Winter Knockouts

Thread starter #1

HampshireHog

Assistant Pro
Joined
Apr 9, 2017
Messages
340
Location
Hampshire
If in the course of a Winter Knockout comp a players handicap changes from a competition handicap to non-competition due to not having returned 3 cards in calendar year what happens?

Player is DQ’d
Player must regain a competition handicap before playing further rounds.
No action is required player can continue through subsequent rounds without a competition handicap
 

rulefan

Tour Winner
Joined
Feb 21, 2013
Messages
7,585
If in the course of a Winter Knockout comp a players handicap changes from a competition handicap to non-competition due to not having returned 3 cards in calendar year what happens?

Player is DQ’d
Player must regain a competition handicap before playing further rounds.
No action is required player can continue through subsequent rounds without a competition handicap
It depends entirely on what the club's conditions say.
1) A non-competition handicap is still an official legitimate handicap in the eyes of CONGU and the Rules of Golf. There is nothing special about it other than as an indicator. Contrary to what some might say, the player's handicap is not suspended.
2) A club may bar entry into certain competitions or allow players to enter but not win prizes or honours depending on that status.
3) The conditions of entry should have made it clear what status was required for initial entry and what the effect on losing 'c' status would be.
4) If the conditions do not spell this out the player must be allowed to continue.
 

duncan mackie

Money List Winner
Joined
Feb 19, 2012
Messages
11,127
Basically what Rulefan has set out.

Entirely a club by club matter - and accepting that some clubs won't have thought about it, in which case so also agree with Rulefan that the player should be allowed to continue in the absence of any rule to the contrary.
 
Thread starter #5

HampshireHog

Assistant Pro
Joined
Apr 9, 2017
Messages
340
Location
Hampshire
Cheers thought that was probably the case. Seems an oversight that you can have a requirement to enter a competition but the same requirement not to be required to win it.
 

duncan mackie

Money List Winner
Joined
Feb 19, 2012
Messages
11,127
Cheers thought that was probably the case. Seems an oversight that you can have a requirement to enter a competition but the same requirement not to be required to win it.
Possibly the most obvious example of such a situation is any handicap limit on entry; handicaps will change, both ways, over any time period.
So such a principle is flawed...
 

rulefan

Tour Winner
Joined
Feb 21, 2013
Messages
7,585
Cheers thought that was probably the case. Seems an oversight that you can have a requirement to enter a competition but the same requirement not to be required to win it.
A typical situation is that a non-c player who has been unable to get sufficient qualifiers in last year because of illness, overseas work assignment (where he played a lot of golf) etc, needs/wants to play in a qualifier. The first available is the early season prestige Joe Bloggs Salver. Allowing him to play will tick one q box but because his standard v his handicap after a long layoff is unknown he is not permitted to win the salver and get his name on the honour board but his handicap may be adjusted if he plays well or badly.
 

Big_G

Assistant Pro
Joined
Feb 10, 2015
Messages
277
We had an issue with this with our only winter comp at our club a couple of years ago

The club contacted CONGU, and were advised that as the player involved had a competition handicap when he entered the comp, thus fulfilling the entrance criteria, he should be allowed to finish the comp
 

duncan mackie

Money List Winner
Joined
Feb 19, 2012
Messages
11,127
Looks to me he posted what CONGU said. In my chats with CONGU they always state that Conditions of Entry are a club issue and rarely get involved.
I think everyone is saying the same thing! Posts 3, 4 and later.
In the absence of anything to the contrary (in the CoC - shortly to be renamed....) then you would go by eligibility at the beginning)
 

jim8flog

Journeyman Pro
Joined
May 20, 2017
Messages
6,079
Location
Yeovil
The condition at our club ( it is in the comp rules) is that they need only to have competition status at the start of the of the comp and may continue to play in the comp if it is lost come January the 1st.
 

rulefan

Tour Winner
Joined
Feb 21, 2013
Messages
7,585
the condition to continue to play.
There is no such animal in the CONGU manual nor in the Rules of Golf. The Conditions of Competition are the only official terms recognised by both. The club may have its own regulations but they cannot override a CoC. Once the terms under which he can enter and play have been accepted by the player and the club has accepted his entry, they are both bound by the CoC.
 

Old Skier

Tour Winner
Joined
May 10, 2013
Messages
6,768
Location
Instow - play in North Devon
There is no such animal in the CONGU manual nor in the Rules of Golf. The Conditions of Competition are the only official terms recognised by both. The club may have its own regulations but they cannot override a CoC. Once the terms under which he can enter and play have been accepted by the player and the club has accepted his entry, they are both bound by the CoC.
I think you miss understood my post.
 
Top