No longer required to mark a balls position for free relief!

rulefan

Tour Winner
Joined
Feb 21, 2013
Messages
4,524
Just to be clear.......
If you get a drop off a path or a staked tree etc, you don't need to mark the ball's original position before picking it up?
You didn't have to previously.

But it was and still is advisable in case you change your mind.
 

clubchamp98

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Jan 23, 2014
Messages
3,024
Location
Liverpool
But why would you mark it? And what is the downside of not marking it?
There are people who hover and wait for you to break a rule so they can get their book out.
That’s why I mark mine it makes sure I don’t make a silly error, where it’s your word against his.
 

chrisd

Major Champion
Joined
Sep 22, 2009
Messages
18,536
Location
Kent
There are people who hover and wait for you to break a rule so they can get their book out.
That’s why I mark mine it makes sure I don’t make a silly error, where it’s your word against his.
But if you dont mark it you will agree with him that you didn't mark it but you know that it wouldn't give rise to a penalty
 

Colin L

Tour Winner
Joined
May 26, 2012
Messages
3,170
Location
Edinburgh
The one relief situation where you should always mark the reference point is when taking back-on-the-line relief. That's because if you don't, the reference point is established as the spot on which your dropped ball hit the ground and if the ball moves forward at all from that spot, it is outside the relief area and has to be re-dropped. If you play it from where it lies, you've played from a wrong place and get the general penalty. Mark the reference point so that you know for sure that your ball is in the relief area.
 

duncan mackie

Money List Winner
Joined
Feb 19, 2012
Messages
9,933
The one relief situation where you should always mark the reference point is when taking back-on-the-line relief. That's because if you don't, the reference point is established as the spot on which your dropped ball hit the ground and if the ball moves forward at all from that spot, it is outside the relief area and has to be re-dropped. If you play it from where it lies, you've played from a wrong place and get the general penalty. Mark the reference point so that you know for sure that your ball is in the relief area.
Or always redrop if the ball goes forwards from the point it first touches the course when taking BOL relief more than 2cl from where you last crossed the edge of the penalty area...
 

rulefan

Tour Winner
Joined
Feb 21, 2013
Messages
4,524
As you may now substitute a ball when taking relief, it may be worthwhile to leave your original where it is until you have determined that where you intend to drop really is the better option.
It always was a good idea but even more so now if getting at the original is difficult.
 

clubchamp98

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Jan 23, 2014
Messages
3,024
Location
Liverpool
Its often impractical to mark the spot where you are lifting the ball from or pointless. This weekend I took an unplayable as my ball was in a gorse bush , no way im scrambling in there trying to mark it.
Another situation I was getting free relief from a bench, this time I work out my NPR, mark that out, then pick up my ball and drop it. Not sure what marking my ball first adds to that situation either.
In your two examples you have physical objects to reference to.
In the middle of the fairway you don’t !
So your op dosnt mark his ball for a preffered lie, towels his ball then he’s guessing where to place!
Same in the rough if playing PL in the general area.

Anyone can come up with scenarios where marking is impractical but when it’s not imo you should mark it .
In yours it’s not that’s fine.
 

clubchamp98

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Jan 23, 2014
Messages
3,024
Location
Liverpool
As you may now substitute a ball when taking relief, it may be worthwhile to leave your original where it is until you have determined that where you intend to drop really is the better option.
It always was a good idea but even more so now if getting at the original is difficult.
So using your original ball as a marked reference point.
 
Top