Handicap help for a rubbish golfer.

Thread starter #1
Hi All, New poster and poor golfer.

I joined a club 2 years ago and have had a handicap of 28 since then. I am not very good at golf so welcomed the new rules with regard to increases in handicap, however as I generally play to an estimate of 34/35 its taking an age to get my handicap increased at .2 every comp I enter. Plus as there is a fee to enter each time even though I can not win I am spending a fortune. Ive moaned at the club pro regarding it who doesn't seem to care. Is there anything else I can do? And answers of "get better at golf" may not be the most useful. There is nothing in the current system to encourage me to play comps. I am aware that some comps will have my handicap capped but most of the comps in my club don't. In the weekends medal I shot 109 (par 72 Css 72) for 44th place. Beating many golfers with lower handicaps. My best round so far was a 102 but normally around 106-110.

DRW

Tour Rookie
You need to speak to someone from the committee and ask for a handicap review(in theory your handicap should have been part of the annual handicap review as well) and explain your concerns.

Cant help for asking.

BTW 102ish could well mean you are close to a 28 handicap, depending on your scoring on the individual holes. Therefore I would first check that this isn't the case.

Slab

Money List Winner
I know you don’t want a ‘get better’ advise so this isn’t that… well it kinda is a little bit ;)

While you play and wait for your handicap to rise I’m sure you’ll be working on getting better anyway but maybe worth mentioning there’s lots of different things to get better at