Anyone Moved their Main Electricity Supply?

Thread starter #1

ADB

Journeyman Pro
Joined
May 1, 2009
Messages
2,482
Location
Sussex
Hi all

Just wondered if there were any sparks on the forum with any experience of this.

We recently moved to a bungalow which we are planning to redevelop and part of the job is to remove a chimney stack which currently has the main electrcity feed to the house from a pole across the street.

We had our electricity provider round to give a quote the other day and he was talking about having to put a new pole in or digging up the street - both at the cost of thousands. My question is is there a minimum height the power line has to connect with the building, as other bungalows on the street are connected from the supply pole to a connector just above the soffit.

Couple of photos attached - one showing the chimney stack with electricity lines attached (our place is on the left), and one showing the pole where the power comes from.

file 1.jpg

file 2.jpg

Appreciate this is a bit vague - but any help appreciated.
 

IanG

Tour Rookie
Joined
Jan 29, 2013
Messages
1,609
Location
North Berwick
Not really much help, but a neighbour of ours has been in dispute with the electricity board for several years about the cost of moving an electricity pole to make room for an extension to his house. Some of the costs he gets quoted are silly, silly money.

Good Luck!
 

Spartacus

Blackballed
Joined
Jul 17, 2010
Messages
246
Location
North West
Hard to tell from your photographs but there's probably a simple solution available but the power companies always maintain not just to take your ££££'s.

They hold the aces
 

williamalex1

Money List Winner
Joined
Apr 7, 2012
Messages
10,134
Location
uddingston
I would think they would have to install another pole on your property the same height. Then tee of the over heads with an underground armoured cable .
If you can dig the 2 feet deep track, supply and lay in the correct size cable to their specifications between the new pole and your internal cable head / meter, you could save a few bob.:thup:

But double check with your local power supplier as the have to make all the connections.
 
Thread starter #5

ADB

Journeyman Pro
Joined
May 1, 2009
Messages
2,482
Location
Sussex
Thanks for the replies chaps - 1st quote has come in at £4.5k.....so we are looking for alternatives :-(
 

6inchcup

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Apr 20, 2012
Messages
2,148
Location
st helens
Thanks for the replies chaps - 1st quote has come in at £4.5k.....so we are looking for alternatives :-(
thats about right,when we had our house built the total cost for all the services came to 22k even though we were quoted 15k,its a mine field laying your own cable as they can refuse to connect to it.
 

DCB

Global Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 6, 2007
Messages
7,609
Location
Midlothian
And remember, the price quoted now will be given a hefty uplift if you don't do the work for another six months. The network supply authority have you over a barell
 
Top