All bunkers are GUR, can a comp be a qualifier?

Thread starter #1

Lord Tyrion

Money List Winner
Joined
Sep 9, 2014
Messages
8,583
Location
Northumberland
Played today and ALL bunkers were GUR. I've just received a HDiD e-mail stating that the comp counts as a qualifier and I have gone up 0.1. My fault for the score but my understanding was a comp could not be a qualifier in this situation. A quick Google suggests I am right but I would like to know if there is a rule number I can point to before I approach the relevant person.

If I am wrong then it is another lesson learnt.
 

Liverpoolphil

Grand Slam Winner
Joined
Jan 23, 2012
Messages
28,327
Location
Leighton Buzzard


  • Can we play a qualifying competition when all bunkers are marked as Ground Under Repair (GUR)?
    No, CONGU states that a qualifying competition may stand if some but not all bunkers are classed as GUR, clubs must ensure that the correct local rule (25/1b-ii) has been applied.
 
Thread starter #4

Lord Tyrion

Money List Winner
Joined
Sep 9, 2014
Messages
8,583
Location
Northumberland
Thanks. I wasn't sure if there was an actual rule number but this is clear enough. Hopefully there will be a follow-up e-mail removing the handicap alterations once the comp person realises the error. If not I'll pop an e-mail across in the morning.
 

rulefan

Tour Winner
Joined
Feb 21, 2013
Messages
3,911
Each national union determines its own number but England Golf ruled a few years a go that if more than 50% are GUR/TTG then it is a non qualifier.
 
Top