Search results

  1. Colin L

    WHS - Handicap Allowances Question

    Yes, that's what I said and that's why with regard to running a stroke play competition it is irrelevant whether scores are going to be returned for handicapping or not, the 95% allowance should be used.
  2. Colin L

    WHS - Handicap Allowances Question

    Sorry if I misread you. When you said "If it's a non Q you can do 100" I took you to mean that the reason why you could use the full course handicap was because it was a non-qualifier, implying that you only have to use the 95% allowance if it were a qualifier. - which is not the case...
  3. Colin L

    WHS - Handicap Allowances Question

    The 95% handicap allowance has nothing to do with whether scores are being returned for handicapping or not. It is entirely to do with the competition results and plays no part in handicap index calculation. It's purpose is to achieve greater equity than using full course handicaps would do in...
  4. Colin L

    Penalty for ignoring rules of etiquette

    A fine upstanding chap, then?
  5. Colin L

    Patrick Read’s caddie

    Well now, you won't find me trying that especially if I was on my own as I would need help to get back up again. :)
  6. Colin L

    Patrick Read’s caddie

    My irritation is with the way you keep sounding off without actually engaging with what is said and coming up with a rule-referenced explanation of why there is a breach. King of the rules book? :LOL: More like a footman.
  7. Colin L

    Patrick Read’s caddie

    Well, I hope you make better use of Salfordlad's response than you have made of mine. So far, you seem to be much better at making a noise than actually listening. Just to pick up on a point I made which you seem to be overlooking. Apart from anything else, the caddies' use of equipment would...
  8. Colin L

    Patrick Read’s caddie

    @Philbyk1 Back to Reed's caddie's antics with the flagstick and Rule 4.3. Here's an idea of the sort of sequence you might go through in reaching a ruling. First, read the relevant rule! https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-4#4-3 Then you really want to be able to...
  9. Colin L

    Patrick Read’s caddie

    I wouldn't do that as there isn't any requirement to take the flagstick out before putting. ;) Prior to the major rules revision in 2019 there was a penalty for hitting the flagstick if your ball was on the putting green but nothing to stop you putting with it in. Now there is no penalty.
  10. Colin L

    Patrick Read’s caddie

    Steady on! That's too scary an endorsement considering the number of mistakes I've made over time.
  11. Colin L

    Patrick Read’s caddie

    I didn't see any breach of 4.3 either.
  12. Colin L

    Patrick Read’s caddie

    I don't get how it relates to AimPoint which depends on feeling through your feet, but no matter. After a quick review of Rule 10, I can't see the caddie's actions being in breach of anything. Nor can I think of any other rule that could be breached by them.
  13. Colin L

    Patrick Read’s caddie

    Just two questions for you, Philbyk1, one mathematical and one anatomical. 1. In what sense is the flagstick perpendicular to the hole? A diagram would help. 2. Since the only "evidence" you have provided shows the caddie lying on top of the flagstick, could you explain how he uses it in this...
  14. Colin L

    Patrick Read’s caddie

    Running for a while? It was only started at 5.49 this evening! Anyway, you guys are doing a good enough if protracted job. (y)
  15. Colin L

    Wrong green ?

    You'd be right. (y)
  16. Colin L

    WHS - Handicap Allowances Question

    See Appendix J, page 44 of the CONGU Guidance on the WHS.
  17. Colin L

    a handicap question

    I think I'll go and have a wee lie down. First I take "he said they dropped it to 10.7 from 12 it was when he last played a comp at his old club in Aberdeen some 6 years ago. he's emailed SG for an explanation" to mean he had asked for an explanation of why his handicap had been "dropped"...
  18. Colin L

    a handicap question

    I thought you meant he had emailed for an explanation of why his Handicap Index was 10.7 when his CONGU handicap was 12. So what was he looking for an explanation of? This player has a CONGU handicap of 12 but no scores for 6 years. He can't therefore have a Handicap Index calculated from...
  19. Colin L

    a handicap question

    You can't directly compare a Congu handicap of 12 with a WHS handicap index of 10.7. You have to consider how many strokes he will get in his course handicap for a particular course. For example, if he plays the white course at my club (Baberton) he will receive 12 strokes, the same as his...
  20. Colin L

    Ball striking another ball on the green

    I do appreciate when someone else knows a rule perfectly well but can't remember its number or find it. I don't feel such a solitary eejit. (y)
Top