Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Head Pro slowhand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Alwoodley, Leeds
    Posts
    284

    Provisional..... Or Not?

    I am fully aware that when intending to play a provisional ball, one must state the intention clearly, including the word "provisional". However, if the player does not make this clear (i.e. says something like "I'll reload") I was under the impression that this then makes this ball the ball in play, and the original ball is finished with.

    However, I am also aware that you cannot declare a ball lost, so this has always seemed to be a bit contradictory. If the player does not declare the second ball a provisional, and his original ball is found within the time limit, shouldn't the original ball still be in play? Or is the assumption that the player, rather than declaring his ball lost, is immediately declare his ball unplayable?
    In the bag:

    Driver: Callaway XR 10.5º
    3W: Callaway XR 15°
    Hybrid: Callaway XR 19°
    4-PW: TaylorMade SpeedBlade HL
    Wedges:Cleveland 588 RTX 2.0 50º, RTX 56°, 60º
    Putter: Odyssey O-Works #1

    H'cap 24.0
    Roundhay GC

  2. #2
    Challenge Tour Pro mikejohnchapman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Dorset
    Posts
    690

    Re: Provisional..... Or Not?

    If the player doesn't clearly say that the second ball he is playing is a provisional ball then it is the ball in play.

    Even if the original is found within 5 minutes it makes no difference.
    Callaway XR16 Driver
    Titleist 915 F 3 Wood
    Ping G400 17 Deg Hybrid
    Mizuno H5 4 Iron
    Mizuno JPX 900 5-PW
    Titleist Vokey 50, 54 & 58 Deg Wedges
    Scotty Camerion Newport DB putter

    H/c 4.5

  3. #3
    Grand Slam Winner Imurg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Aylesbury Bucks
    Posts
    22,458

    Re: Provisional..... Or Not?

    Your last sentence sums it up. Unless the ball is declared a provisional, you're effectively declaring ball 1 unplayable and taking stroke and distance .
    Callaway clubs in a Callaway bag.

    Handicap 7.8 at Whipsnade Park

    H4H Handicap challenge Vs r0wly86

    You might be a King or a Little Street Sweeper but sooner or later you dance with The Reaper...

  4. #4
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    2,846

    Re: Provisional..... Or Not?

    Take a look at the Definition of a lost ball which lists the various actions which deem a ball to be "lost" . It includes

    [If] the player has put another ball into play under penalty of stroke and distance under Rule 26-1a, 27-1 or 28a.

    When the player put another ball into play without declaring it to be a provisional, he did so under Rule 27-1.

  5. #5
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    sarf Lunnon
    Posts
    3,239

    Re: Provisional..... Or Not?

    The three answers above clearly state the situation.

    But have to admit that I've never fancied the argument or acrimony that would likely ensue if a player plays a provisional of, shall we say, dubious status, and then the original is found in a nice lie. Hence, if a player doesn't specifically say so, l have the habit of casually asking "Is that a provisional?". Safeguards sanity later ...
    Handicap Challenge - 19.3 (12 Aug)
    The uglier a man’s legs are, the better he plays golf. HG Wells. I got nice legs...

  6. #6
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    3,539

    Re: Provisional..... Or Not?

    Preferably before he hits it.

  7. #7
    Money List Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    9,035

    Re: Provisional..... Or Not?

    Which completely removes any risk of acrimony....

  8. #8
    Head Pro LincolnShep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Lincoln, UK
    Posts
    294

    Re: Provisional..... Or Not?

    Quote Originally Posted by rulefan View Post
    Preferably before he hits it.
    I like to ask while they're on their backswing... 😁

  9. #9
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    3,539

    Re: Provisional..... Or Not?

    Just wait a tad longer

  10. #10
    Challenge Tour Pro mikejohnchapman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Dorset
    Posts
    690

    Re: Provisional..... Or Not?

    Always amuses me when people go to great lengths to describe the make, model, number and markings on their provisional ball. As long as they can identify it and it isn't the same as the original - I don't want to know!
    Callaway XR16 Driver
    Titleist 915 F 3 Wood
    Ping G400 17 Deg Hybrid
    Mizuno H5 4 Iron
    Mizuno JPX 900 5-PW
    Titleist Vokey 50, 54 & 58 Deg Wedges
    Scotty Camerion Newport DB putter

    H/c 4.5

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Latest Golf News