Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 32
  1. #21
    Ryder Cup Winner pauldj42's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Seaham
    Posts
    13,571

    Re: Matchplay ruling

    Rather than start another thread, watching a matchplay game last night at our place one team, team A, had both balls on the green, marked, lifted, both there for 4, Team B had one ball, marked, lifted etc for 3 and his partner was about 40ft away on the green taking a putt for a 6, so, he took his putt and left it about 9-12 inches short and as he walks to mark it, his partner walks to the ball and knocks it back to him with his putter and tells him to pick it up as he’s out the hole.

    Team A did not concede the putt and wondered whether there was any penalty against Team B for the guy playing his partner’s ball although accepting he wasn’t taking a shot, but it was a deliberate action.

  2. #22
    Journeyman Pro 2blue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Happy Leeds,
    Posts
    1,755

    Re: Matchplay ruling

    Quote Originally Posted by pauldj42 View Post
    Rather than start another thread, watching a matchplay game last night at our place one team, team A, had both balls on the green, marked, lifted, both there for 4, Team B had one ball, marked, lifted etc for 3 and his partner was about 40ft away on the green taking a putt for a 6, so, he took his putt and left it about 9-12 inches short and as he walks to mark it, his partner walks to the ball and knocks it back to him with his putter and tells him to pick it up as he’s out the hole.

    Team A did not concede the putt and wondered whether there was any penalty against Team B for the guy playing his partner’s ball although accepting he wasn’t taking a shot, but it was a deliberate action.
    I think by knocking the ball across the green he could be in danger of being accused of 'testing the green' - the speed of... loss of hole! But I stand to be corrected
    2Blue H/cap 10.3 ..... H4H H/cap Challenge against - Louise_a

    http://www.leedsgolfcentre.com/

  3. #23
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    2,880

    Re: Matchplay ruling

    Quote Originally Posted by pauldj42 View Post
    Rather than start another thread, watching a matchplay game last night at our place one team, team A, had both balls on the green, marked, lifted, both there for 4, Team B had one ball, marked, lifted etc for 3 and his partner was about 40ft away on the green taking a putt for a 6, so, he took his putt and left it about 9-12 inches short and as he walks to mark it, his partner walks to the ball and knocks it back to him with his putter and tells him to pick it up as he’s out the hole.

    Team A did not concede the putt and wondered whether there was any penalty against Team B for the guy playing his partner’s ball although accepting he wasn’t taking a shot, but it was a deliberate action.
    Nothing at all wrong in picking up your partner's ball or knocking it away like that.

    As to testing the green, the casual action of knocking a ball away from the hole for the purpose of passsing it to your partner who is out of the hole would not be considered testing the surface of the green. See Decision 16-1d/1
    http://www.usga.org/rules/rules-and-...on-16,d16-1d-1

  4. #24
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    4,599

    Re: Matchplay ruling

    Quote Originally Posted by 2blue View Post
    I think by knocking the ball across the green he could be in danger of being accused of 'testing the green' - the speed of... loss of hole! But I stand to be corrected
    Unless the action could be clearly seen as other than casually knocking it away, I see no issue about 'testing'.

  5. #25
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    4,599

    Re: Matchplay ruling

    Quote Originally Posted by pauldj42 View Post
    Team A did not concede the putt and wondered whether there was any penalty against Team B for the guy playing his partner’s ball although accepting he wasn’t taking a shot, but it was a deliberate action.
    If there was a penalty it would be to the player whose ball it is - but he is out of it anyway.

  6. #26
    Journeyman Pro 2blue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Happy Leeds,
    Posts
    1,755

    Re: Matchplay ruling

    Thanks. Good to have that clarified as its an action I'd always avoided doing.... probs still will anyway, to avoid any issues.

    Another query under this thread title came up just yesterday....
    A & B in an Individual MatchPlay, are all-square going down the 18th.
    A hits a drive down the right that crosses the path running down the length of the fairway, the right edge of which defines the OB (Local-Rule is on back of card) but the white posts (Indicating there's OB) are on a strip of grass approx. 2ft beyond the path edge.
    A's ball finishes on that strip of grass so is OB but he thinks that because it's inside the line of the posts its ok & goes ahead & plays it whilst standing on the path... no probs with that!
    Meanwhile B has driven down the left of the fairway so is unaware of where A's ball finished & was not consulted about the OB scenario & in any case may have made little difference since after finishing, & losing the hole & match he enquires where his opponents ball had finished.
    A, his opponent, explains that it was over the path but inside the posts & B (in ignorance) neither thinks nor says any more about it until chatting with someone the following day when it's explained that "It was OB" so A should have gone back to the Tee.
    Question...
    Does the result stand? 'A' wins even though he played a ball that was OB & didn't consult his opponent for a ruling so they can't be accused of wavering the Rules.... just not knowing them.
    What should B have done if he'd only realized that there was doubt about the OB situation.... yes, consult the back of the card... anything else?
    2Blue H/cap 10.3 ..... H4H H/cap Challenge against - Louise_a

    http://www.leedsgolfcentre.com/

  7. #27
    Ryder Cup Winner pauldj42's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Seaham
    Posts
    13,571

    Re: Matchplay ruling

    Quote Originally Posted by 2blue View Post
    Thanks. Good to have that clarified as its an action I'd always avoided doing.... probs still will anyway, to avoid any issues.

    Another query under this thread title came up just yesterday....
    A & B in an Individual MatchPlay, are all-square going down the 18th.
    A hits a drive down the right that crosses the path running down the length of the fairway, the right edge of which defines the OB (Local-Rule is on back of card) but the white posts (Indicating there's OB) are on a strip of grass approx. 2ft beyond the path edge.
    A's ball finishes on that strip of grass so is OB but he thinks that because it's inside the line of the posts its ok & goes ahead & plays it whilst standing on the path... no probs with that!
    Meanwhile B has driven down the left of the fairway so is unaware of where A's ball finished & was not consulted about the OB scenario & in any case may have made little difference since after finishing, & losing the hole & match he enquires where his opponents ball had finished.
    A, his opponent, explains that it was over the path but inside the posts & B (in ignorance) neither thinks nor says any more about it until chatting with someone the following day when it's explained that "It was OB" so A should have gone back to the Tee.
    Question...
    Does the result stand? 'A' wins even though he played a ball that was OB & didn't consult his opponent for a ruling so they can't be accused of wavering the Rules.... just not knowing them.
    What should B have done if he'd only realized that there was doubt about the OB situation.... yes, consult the back of the card... anything else?
    Don’t know the answer but seems daft to have the white posts so far oob’s, pointless having them really if they don’t actually mean anything.

  8. #28
    Journeyman Pro 2blue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Happy Leeds,
    Posts
    1,755

    Re: Matchplay ruling

    Quote Originally Posted by pauldj42 View Post
    Don’t know the answer but seems daft to have the white posts so far oob’s, pointless having them really if they don’t actually mean anything.
    Aye.. their only purpose is to indicate that there's an OB there (so look at the back of your card for further clarification!!) but it's confused a few folk as 'the edge of the path' is not absolutely clear in places where grass has over-grown. A line is the only clear solution but I've only seen that when the Senior Masters are here.... same as lines defining the limits of hazards. Would involve a lot of paint & someones time, so I guess that's the reason... not good though.

    On the main question, Paul, if that had occurred 'mid-round' then, as I understand it, after teeing-off on the next hole, the hole result would stand .... but I'll stand to be corrected
    Last edited by 2blue; 07-Jun-2018 at 11:05.
    2Blue H/cap 10.3 ..... H4H H/cap Challenge against - Louise_a

    http://www.leedsgolfcentre.com/

  9. #29
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    4,599

    Re: Matchplay ruling

    The result stands as B did not make a timely claim.

    If B was aware of the problem at the time and knew the correct answer, he should have discussed it with A.
    If A continued with the 'wrong' action, they should continue playing but B should register that he was making a claim.

    If neither knew the correct answer, they could reach an agreement and no claim could be made.

    However, the words of the Local Rule and the marking should be examined by the committee. If the stakes are intended to indicate the presence of the OOB only, it would be better to colour them with a black top to indicate their significance and the words of the LR altered to match.
    Last edited by rulefan; 07-Jun-2018 at 11:40.

  10. #30
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    4,599

    Re: Matchplay ruling

    Quote Originally Posted by pauldj42 View Post
    Don’t know the answer but seems daft to have the white posts so far oob’s, pointless having them really if they don’t actually mean anything.
    Stakes indicating the presence of a problem (OOB, WH or LWH say) are commonly used if the actual problem cannot clearly be seen by the player. eg a WH hidden over the top of a bank. They would normally be black topped to show the difference.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Latest Golf News

Dad Makes Birdie After Son Finds Ball Down Animal Hole

A competitor in the PGA Professionals Championship at the weekend made an incredible birdie after his son retrieved it from down an animal hole

June 19, 2018

Travelers Championship Golf Betting Tips

TPC River Highlands hosts the event on the PGA Tour this week, check out who we think will do well with these Travelers Championship Golf Betting Tips

June 19, 2018

BMW International Open Golf Betting Tips

The European Tour are in Germany this week, check out who we think will do well with these BMW International Open Golf Betting Tips

June 19, 2018

‘Why Do Golfers Only Wear One Glove?’ You Asked Google And We’ve Got The Answer…

You asked Google why golfers only wear one glove. Here is the answer...

June 19, 2018

Is Brooks Koepka Here To Stay?

The double US Open champion is up to fourth in the world, is he here to stay?

June 19, 2018