Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 42
  1. #11
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    3,630

    Re: Bridge over ditch

    Quote Originally Posted by pauldj42 View Post
    This is the situation at our place, a stone bridge crosses the ditch, under the bridge there is a closed pipe and our stakes are either side of the bridge.
    If a ball lands on said bridge it is deemed not be in the hazard.
    Just to be pedantic, the bridge is not in the hazard by definition. It would only be in the hazard if the committee deemed it to be by local rule.

  2. #12
    Head Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Durham
    Posts
    402

    Re: Bridge over ditch

    https://www.randa.org/News/2016/05/A...Troubled-Water

    This clears everything up.

    (I've learnt something new today) Everyday is a school day!
    2017 Handicap monthly progress - Apr 8.9 May 9.5 June 7.3 July 7.0 Aug 6.1 Sept 6.7

  3. #13
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    3,630

    Re: Bridge over ditch

    Quote Originally Posted by lukeysafc100 View Post
    https://www.randa.org/News/2016/05/A...Troubled-Water

    This clears everything up.

    (I've learnt something new today) Everyday is a school day!
    It's a pity they didn't mention concrete pipes or tubes.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by rulefan; 01-Jun-2018 at 10:18.

  4. #14
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    3,630

    Re: Bridge over ditch

    I should have made it clear.
    1 in WH
    2 & 3 Not in WH

  5. #15
    Challenge Tour Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    649

    Re: Bridge over ditch

    Just an aside for no purpose but clarity...and satisfying my anal urges. The reason you can "ground" your club on a bridge in a hazard is because the bridge is not "ground."
    See dec 13-4/30.

  6. #16
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    sarf Lunnon
    Posts
    3,265

    Re: Bridge over ditch

    Quote Originally Posted by atticusfinch View Post
    Just an aside for no purpose but clarity...and satisfying my anal urges. The reason you can "ground" your club on a bridge in a hazard is because the bridge is not "ground."
    See dec 13-4/30.
    Not just anal, but helpful - because l knew a decision of that nature existed, but couldn't find it.

    And reason l wanted to find it was to help illustrate this thread - along lines that if the bridge wasn't in the hazard then there wouldn't be a need for the decision about grounding a club on a bridge. (If you see what i mean?)
    Handicap Challenge - 19.3 (12 Jul)
    The uglier a man’s legs are, the better he plays golf. HG Wells. I got nice legs...

  7. #17
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    2,876

    Re: Bridge over ditch

    Just to add to Rulefan's illustrations, this picture was taken yesterday on the course I was refereeing on. I did on a previous occasion on that course have to advise a player on the status of the grass bit over the pipes. As it was through the green, she could move loose impediments and ground her club. On another course, a advised a player whose ball was on a bridge over an open ditch. The track over the bridge was surfaced with loose stones. In that situation, the player could ground his club but could not move any of the stones.

  8. #18
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    3,630

    Re: Bridge over ditch

    Colin
    No picture. Did you forget to click 'Upload'?

  9. #19
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    2,876

    Re: Bridge over ditch

    Fell asleep!

    IMG_0739.jpg

  10. #20
    Money List Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    9,147

    Re: Bridge over ditch

    That one is a classic case where putting the stakes either side of the non bridge would help everyone..(except possibly the greenstaff)
    some metal woods,
    any old irons,
    Pick up balls....

    12.2 and moving the wrong way again...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Latest Golf News