Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: My TV Confusion

  1. #1
    Major Champion SwingsitlikeHogan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    15,625

    My TV Confusion

    My TV connections confuse me massively - am I getting a 'signal' wirelessly or through an ethernet connection or my Sky box - through whatever? - I don't know even know what an antenna is these days. I just struggle along.

    And so for me posting this. I am watching TV on my Sony using Youview. But some channels work - and other tell me. No signal. Please check you antenna connection. What antenna? Why some and not others when I am trying to view all through through Youview. I really just don't get it...

    And a little earlier I was trying to go onto Netflix - and it immediately flicking back to TV. Meanwhile TV in front room is telling me 'No internet connection'. But my internet must be OK as I can get onto Youtube in my backroom TV.

    Why do TVs have to be so bleedin' complicated these days

    Any thoughts anyone about what the blazes is going on

    (I rebooted my wireless router and the TVs and still issues)
    to infinity and beyond...

    ...well from 10.0 to 9.4 this year would be nice.

    And last medal of the year (Oct) saw me play to handicap but CSS was +1 so that was me down 0.2 from 8.3 to 8.1

    Job done

  2. #2
    Major Champion bobmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Lincolnshire
    Posts
    19,806

    Re: My TV Confusion

    Some channels are from the internet 300 upwards and some are from the aerial on your roof
    Mad inventor of the www.v-easy.co.uk A knowledgeable person knows lots of stuff, a wise person keeps it to themself

  3. #3
    Money List Winner
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    7,110

    Re: My TV Confusion

    Quote Originally Posted by SwingsitlikeHogan View Post
    My TV connections confuse me massively - am I getting a 'signal' wirelessly or through an ethernet connection or my Sky box - through whatever? - I don't know even know what an antenna is these days. I just struggle along.

    And so for me posting this. I am watching TV on my Sony using Youview. But some channels work - and other tell me. No signal. Please check you antenna connection. What antenna? Why some and not others when I am trying to view all through through Youview. I really just don't get it...

    And a little earlier I was trying to go onto Netflix - and it immediately flicking back to TV. Meanwhile TV in front room is telling me 'No internet connection'. But my internet must be OK as I can get onto Youtube in my backroom TV.

    Why do TVs have to be so bleedin' complicated these days

    Any thoughts anyone about what the blazes is going on

    (I rebooted my wireless router and the TVs and still issues)
    I think you are asking the wrong demographic here, you need to ask a 14 year old who will sort it out in seconds. So try a Grime forum.
    Tinkety tonk old fruit, and down with the Nazis.

  4. #4
    Major Champion SwingsitlikeHogan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    15,625

    Re: My TV Confusion

    Quote Originally Posted by Hacker Khan View Post
    I think you are asking the wrong demographic here, you need to ask a 14 year old who will sort it out in seconds. So try a Grime forum.
    Aye - you're probably not wrong there @HK

    Anyway - seem to have fixed backroom TV issue by checking and redoing co-axial ariel connectors - then retuning. Though not at all sure whether or not YouView is 'aeriel' or 'wireless internet' fed. By the sounds of it it could be both...

    And still don't know why getting No internet connection for TV in front room...
    to infinity and beyond...

    ...well from 10.0 to 9.4 this year would be nice.

    And last medal of the year (Oct) saw me play to handicap but CSS was +1 so that was me down 0.2 from 8.3 to 8.1

    Job done

  5. #5
    Tour Winner Old Skier's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Instow - play in North Devon
    Posts
    4,245

    Re: My TV Confusion

    Front room TV, go into settings and check it's connected to/capable of connecting to internet.
    H4H Handicap Challenge v backwoodsman start HC 20H4H Challenge v Khamelionwww.therebutnotthere.org.uk

  6. #6
    Journeyman Pro
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Yeovil
    Posts
    1,980

    Re: My TV Confusion

    It's why I still have Ethernet cables around the house . I lose wi fi signal sometimes just by closing the bedroom door.
    Handicap 9 (was 6, now showing my age)An absolute miss mash of clubs

  7. #7
    Tour Winner Old Skier's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Instow - play in North Devon
    Posts
    4,245

    Re: My TV Confusion

    Quote Originally Posted by jim8flog View Post
    It's why I still have Ethernet cables around the house . I lose wi fi signal sometimes just by closing the bedroom door.
    Try some wifi boosters.
    H4H Handicap Challenge v backwoodsman start HC 20H4H Challenge v Khamelionwww.therebutnotthere.org.uk

  8. #8
    Major Champion SwingsitlikeHogan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    15,625

    Re: My TV Confusion

    I don't get it.

    I've fixed my internet connection issue with the TV in my front room. When testing the connection and the checking the wireless router details on the TV I noticed that the router password was showing in lower case - and I know that it is upper case on the router. I had previously noticed this but thought nothing of it as the TV has been connecting to the internet perfectly for the last four months since we bought - besides - I thought the password was not case sensitive in any case.

    But as I had tried everything else (including plugging directly from the powerlink into the TV) and nothing worked - well I thought I might as well have a go re-entering the password upper case, and yup - worked straight off.

    So how come, what has changed? I certainly haven't changed the password as entered in the TV to lowercase - and it's been working just fine - until it just stopped.

    I don't get technology.
    to infinity and beyond...

    ...well from 10.0 to 9.4 this year would be nice.

    And last medal of the year (Oct) saw me play to handicap but CSS was +1 so that was me down 0.2 from 8.3 to 8.1

    Job done

  9. #9
    Tour Winner Old Skier's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Instow - play in North Devon
    Posts
    4,245

    Re: My TV Confusion

    Router passwords normally case sensitive so it's strange if it worked before.
    H4H Handicap Challenge v backwoodsman start HC 20H4H Challenge v Khamelionwww.therebutnotthere.org.uk

  10. #10
    Major Champion SwingsitlikeHogan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    15,625

    Re: My TV Confusion

    Quote Originally Posted by Old Skier View Post
    Router passwords normally case sensitive so it's strange if it worked before.
    that's what has got me - it had been working just fine...

    Anyway - it's working again
    to infinity and beyond...

    ...well from 10.0 to 9.4 this year would be nice.

    And last medal of the year (Oct) saw me play to handicap but CSS was +1 so that was me down 0.2 from 8.3 to 8.1

    Job done

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Latest Golf News