Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Head Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    346

    Rules Quiz III - true or false?

    1. Proceeding under Rule 24-2 (immovable obstruction) or 25-1 (abnormal ground condition) must be witnessed by your opponent or fellow-competitor.
    2. If you make strokes at two wrong balls in succession, you are penalized 4 strokes.
    3. You may not remove a stake defining the water hazard if your ball lies in the water hazard.
    4. You are not penalized if you move your ball during search.
    5. Any correction on the scorecard must be initialled.
    6. You must record both your score and Stableford points on your scorecard.

  2. #2
    Money List Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    8,731

    Re: Rules Quiz III - true or false?

    2 is true if you establish that you played a wrong ball the first time, which the wording of the question strongly implies.
    some metal woods,
    any old irons,
    Pick up balls....

    12.2 and moving the wrong way again...

  3. #3
    Money List Winner
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    salford
    Posts
    6,511

    Re: Rules Quiz III - true or false?

    4,5,6 all False and I would think 3 is false too
    WS DXi Superlight Driver
    WS Fybrid RS 17°
    WS Fybrid RS 23°
    WS Fybrid RS 26°
    Orka GS5 CTi irons 5-SW
    Titliest Vokey 52/8, 56/8
    Odyssey Works 2ball Fang

    Handicap 2012 34>19.4, 2013>15.4, 2014>11.9, 2015>10.0, 2016<11.6, 2017>10.8


    My golf blog http://louisesgolfblog.blogspot.co.uk/

    http://www.ellesmeregolfclub.co.uk/index.php

  4. #4
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    sarf Lunnon
    Posts
    3,190

    Re: Rules Quiz III - true or false?

    I'm not going to argue witn Duncan about No. 2, but the others are false.
    Handicap Challenge - 19.3 (23 Dec)
    The uglier a man’s legs are, the better he plays golf. HG Wells. I got nice legs...

  5. #5
    Major Champion chrisd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    18,811

    Re: Rules Quiz III - true or false?

    Quote Originally Posted by backwoodsman View Post
    I'm not going to argue witn Duncan about No. 2, but the others are false.
    My view as well
    removed list of clubs as they change too frequently !

    Handicap 12.0

  6. #6
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    4,269

    Re: Rules Quiz III - true or false?

    No one has specifically mentioned 1

    Is there a query?

  7. #7
    Assistant Pro
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Rutland
    Posts
    154

    Re: Rules Quiz III - true or false?

    I am not aware that either opponent or FC has to witness the relief. On the occasions that I have claimed relief I have told my FCs and sometimes they have a look and other times they let me get on with it. I believe that all the rules rely on the integrity of the golfers and witnesses are not required.

  8. #8
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    4,269

    Re: Rules Quiz III - true or false?

    Quote Originally Posted by Franco View Post
    I am not aware that either opponent or FC has to witness the relief.
    So you suggest that the statement is false?

  9. #9
    Assistant Pro
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Rutland
    Posts
    154

    Re: Rules Quiz III - true or false?

    Yes, I believe the statement is false and there is no need for a witness. The rules 24-2 and 25-1 make no mention of a witness. I am only aware of a witness for 12-2, (lifting ball for identification). If my belief is incorrect, then I am about to learn something when I read your reply, which is exactly why I read this forum.

  10. #10
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    4,269

    Re: Rules Quiz III - true or false?

    Your belief is correct. Given that the book contains no such requirement, then there is no requirement. Trust what you read.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Latest Golf News

Sergio Garcia Swing Analysis

Here we take an in-depth look at the swing of 2017 Masters Champion Sergio Garcia

February 23, 2018

Tiger Woods To Hit “Four Or Five” Drivers A Day At Honda Classic

The 14-time major winner will surely hit more fairways this week at PGA National, revealing he's only going to hit "four or five" drivers per round

February 22, 2018

Smarter Ways to Lower Scores 2018 powered by Cobra Puma Golf

2 golfers will get the chance to lower their scores the ‘smarter way’ this year via our bigger and better 'Smarter Ways to Lower Scores 2018' project powered by Cobra Puma Golf

February 21, 2018

4 Ways to Improve Your Short Game Strikes

In this video, GM Top 25 coach John Jacobs shows 4 fail-safe chipping methods to help you stop wasting shots around the greens

February 21, 2018

Jim Furyk Names Woods And Stricker As Ryder Cup Vice Captains

Woods and Stricker will join Davis Love III as Jim Furyk's vice captains at Le Golf National

February 21, 2018