Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Head Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    397

    Rules Quiz II - true or false?

    1. "Line of flight" relief is allowed in the Rules of Golf.
    2. You cannot practice on the putting green of the hole last played.
    3. You may not change the type of ball you are playing between holes.
    4. You can't lay your clubs down in a hazard.
    5. You always have to ask your opponent/fellow competitor before fixing a ball mark.
    6. You must remove the ball before the flagstick when you've holed out from off the green.




  2. #2
    Head Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    397

    Re: Rules Quiz II - true or false?

    BTW, these quizzes were inspired by the Rules misconceptions in the unplayable ball thread.

  3. #3
    Tour Winner Maninblack4612's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    South Shields
    Posts
    3,349

    Re: Rules Quiz II - true or false?

    All false.
    Taylormade M1 9˝°, Oban Devotion 6 Regular
    Taylormade SLDR 3 wood
    Taylormade SLDR 5 wood
    TaylormadeSLDR Rescue 22°
    Mizuno JPX850 forged irons 4 - PW
    Titelist Vokey 50 & 58 wedges
    Cure RX4 putter (heavyweight magic wand)
    Motocaddy S7 Remote
    Vice Pro Plus ball
    H/C 10 @ SSGC.co.uk (9.5, whole season to get back to single figures)

  4. #4
    Head Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Leicester
    Posts
    467

    Re: Rules Quiz II - true or false?

    1. is true. Line of play relief is permitted under the rules from Temporary Immovable Obstructions, though a local rule is required.

    The rest are false.

  5. #5
    Head Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    282

    Re: Rules Quiz II - true or false?

    Quote Originally Posted by doublebogey7 View Post
    1. is true. Line of play relief is permitted under the rules from Temporary Immovable Obstructions, though a local rule is required.

    The rest are false.
    I suspect that the OP meant that dropping the ball back on its line of flight to where it ended up is allowed, rather than dropping the ball back on a line from where it came to rest (or crossed the margin of a water hazard) and the flag. A common misconception.

    But yes, line of sight relief is available for TIOs if the appropriate LR is in place.

  6. #6
    Head Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    397

    Re: Rules Quiz II - true or false?

    Quote Originally Posted by pogle View Post
    I suspect that the OP meant that dropping the ball back on its line of flight to where it ended up is allowed, rather than dropping the ball back on a line from where it came to rest (or crossed the margin of a water hazard) and the flag. A common misconception.

    But yes, line of sight relief is available for TIOs if the appropriate LR is in place.
    Imo, "line of flight" is not the same as "line of sight". "Line of flight" is the path the ball took to get to it's current position, "line of sight" is the path from the ball's current position to the hole.

  7. #7
    Major Champion SwingsitlikeHogan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    18,480

    Re: Rules Quiz II - true or false?

    Perhaps 2. is pedantically true if you have finished the hole, but your playing companions have not (not sure if this only applies if one of the players to finish is a partner).
    to infinity and beyond...

    ...well from 10.0 to 9.4 this year would be nice.

    And last medal of the year (Oct) saw me play to handicap but CSS was +1 so that was me down 0.2 from 8.3 to 8.1

    Job done

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Latest Golf News

BMW PGA Championship 2018 Tee Times: Round Three

Leader Rory McIlroy tees off at 1.20pm in the final group with Sam Horsfield

May 25, 2018

WATCH: Thomas Pieters Snaps Club On His Neck

The Belgian showed some anger, as well as serious neck strength, in snapping his club during the BMW PGA Championship

May 25, 2018

Noren After Playing With McIlroy: “I’m About To Quit Golf”

The Swede joked he would give the game up after witnessing McIlroy's 65 on day two of the BMW PGA Championship

May 25, 2018

Rory McIlroy Lights Up Wentworth With 65 To Lead BMW PGA

The four-time major winner is in a commanding position after 36 holes

May 25, 2018

Kevin Na And Caddie Have Hilarious Exchange On Way To Birdie

Kevin Na went for a miracle shot despite his caddie disagreeing. It led to a birdie

May 25, 2018