Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Head Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    341

    Brief Rules quiz - true or false?

    1. You are not allowed to keep score with a pencil that has an eraser, since you might change the scores on the card.
    2. You are not allowed to change clubs once you have entered the bunker.
    3. Your ball lies deep in the gorse; after deeming it unplayable, you can measure 2 club lengths from the outside edge of the gorse.
    4. When your ball lies in the middle of a cart path you may choose the nearest point of relief on either side of the path.
    5. If a bunker has casual water in it and there is no point of full relief in the bunker which is not nearer the hole, you can drop outside the bunker without penalty.
    6. You can only use a putter on a putting green.

  2. #2
    Money List Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    8,685

    Re: Brief Rules quiz - true or false?

    All false, with the possible exception of 4 as worded. It is possible that there are 2 NPR points, one on either side of the path, in which case you may chose which one you wish to use. Whilst you do say ball is in centre of path, which strongly implies that there won't be 2, the angle of the path relative to the flag etc can lead to there being 2.
    some metal woods,
    any old irons,
    Pick up balls....

    12.2 and moving the wrong way again...

  3. #3
    Head Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    471

    Re: Brief Rules quiz - true or false?

    I wouldn't care to argue too much with the previous response as it is possible to have a scenario where to the very millimeter 2 points on NPR is possible (have never seen it myself but it has to be mathematically possible. That said - all false

  4. #4
    Tour Winner upsidedown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Shropshire
    Posts
    4,058

    Re: Brief Rules quiz - true or false?

    All false , 4 depends on whether you're left or right handed ?
    Handicap : 5.2

  5. #5
    Head Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    341

    Re: Brief Rules quiz - true or false?

    Quote Originally Posted by upsidedown View Post
    All false , 4 depends on whether you're left or right handed ?
    Which one gets to choose - the right-hander or the left-hander?

  6. #6
    Tour Rookie
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Yeovil
    Posts
    1,390

    Re: Brief Rules quiz - true or false?

    4 is arguable if the player is ambidextrous and can clearly show he intends the hit the next shot with his choice which 'hand' he intends to use 9 assuming a mix of left and right handed clubs in the bag)
    Handicap 9 (was 6, now showing my age)An absolute miss mash of clubs

  7. #7
    Head Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    341

    Re: Brief Rules quiz - true or false?

    Quote Originally Posted by jim8flog View Post
    4 is arguable if the player is ambidextrous and can clearly show he intends the hit the next shot with his choice which 'hand' he intends to use 9 assuming a mix of left and right handed clubs in the bag)
    Is the greatest probability true or false? (the only answers available)

  8. #8
    Journeyman Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    1,665

    Re: Brief Rules quiz - true or false?

    Is cart path parallel to or across fairway?

  9. #9
    Head Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Durham
    Posts
    377

    Re: Brief Rules quiz - true or false?

    1. False
    2. False
    3. False - from where the ball lay
    4. False - must be nearest point of relief
    5. False - 1 shot penalty.
    6. False
    2017 Handicap monthly progress - Apr 8.9 May 9.5 June 7.3 July 7.0 Aug 6.1 Sept 6.7

  10. #10
    Journeyman Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    1,650

    Re: Brief Rules quiz - true or false?

    Quote Originally Posted by jim8flog View Post
    4 is arguable if the player is ambidextrous and can clearly show he intends the hit the next shot with his choice which 'hand' he intends to use 9 assuming a mix of left and right handed clubs in the bag)
    if he declares what hand he is playing there is only one npr I would think.

    taking your stance would mean ball is farther away from path than other side as the ball could be closer to the path.

    But yes he would have to declare what hand he was playing.

    ps if said player took relief left handed and dropped accordingly, then decided to play right handed and was standing on the path , would he get a drop ?
    or has he not taken full relief .

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Latest Golf News

Luiten beats Wood to win Oman Open as Southgate fades

Joost Luiten of the Netherlands won the inaugural NBO Oman Open by two shots from England’s Chris Wood. It was Luiten’s sixth European Tour title.

February 18, 2018

16 Of The Coolest Back Garden Golf Setups

Want to be able to hone your game in the comfort of your own back garden? Here are some incredible back garden golf setups...

February 16, 2018

Current Tour Player Caddie Partnerships

Who do the world's best currently have on their bags?

February 16, 2018

Tiger Woods What’s In The Bag?

The 14-time major winner makes his second start of 2018 this week at Riviera, take a look at the equipment he's using

February 16, 2018

10 Tour Pro Ball Striking Tips

Need help with your ball striking? Check out these superb tips from 10 of the world's best players

February 15, 2018