Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 99
  1. #1
    Tour Winner North Mimms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    3,134

    Yet another golfing Rule myth...

    So today we were playing, I tended the flag for a long putt, and pulled it out as ball approached nicely on line. But chap seriously overputted and ball trickled off green and rolled down a slope.
    I said "do want the flag back in?"

    He replied that it wasn't allowed according to Rules, once flag is removed it has to stay out!
    He even insisted that Tiger fell foul of this rule.

    Please share your Rule myths
    Better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to open your mouth and remove all doubt

  2. #2
    Money List Winner ScienceBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Cambridge
    Posts
    8,476

    Re: Yet another golfing Rule myth...

    I’m sure the closer person, but off the green, would like it back in...

  3. #3
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    4,513

    Re: Yet another golfing Rule myth...

    i had a cracker the other day

    "your not allowed to carry your bag into a hazard"

  4. #4
    Money List Winner paddyk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    7,051

    Re: Yet another golfing Rule myth...

    you must announce on the tee what ball you are playing

  5. #5
    Money List Winner paddyk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    7,051

    Re: Yet another golfing Rule myth...

    you must mark your ball any time you pick it up.

  6. #6
    Money List Winner paddyk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    7,051

    Re: Yet another golfing Rule myth...

    you must ask your fc for permission to repair a pitchmark

  7. #7
    Global Moderator PhilTheFragger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Amersham Bucks
    Posts
    10,108

    Re: Yet another golfing Rule myth...

    Quote Originally Posted by paddyk View Post
    you must mark your ball any time you pick it up.
    Ok I’ll bite, surely if you intend to replace the ball you have to mark it.
    Driver Callaway Epic
    5 Wood Callaway XR A Flex
    Hybrid Callaway Epic 3
    Hybrid 2 Callaway Epic 5
    Irons 5-PW Orka GS5 CTI Flatline 80A Graphite
    Wedges Cleveland 588 RTX 52, 56, 60
    Putter Ping Scottsdale Grayhawk 34 inch with Fatso 50 Grip
    Handicap 20.8 Whipsnade Park GC

  8. #8
    Money List Winner paddyk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    7,051

    Re: Yet another golfing Rule myth...

    Quote Originally Posted by PhilTheFragger View Post
    Ok I’ll bite, surely if you intend to replace the ball you have to mark it.
    sure. but you don't always pick it up with the intention of replacing it though.

  9. #9
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3,347

    Re: Yet another golfing Rule myth...

    Having the adjustment tool for your driver in your bag is a DQ because you "have the opportunity to adjust your driver during the round and you're not allowed to do that".

    I countered this with "well I suppose you should DQ yourself as you're wearing shoes and that means you have the opportunity to kick the ball into a better position in the rough and you're not allowed to do that".

  10. #10
    Club Champion Heavy-grebo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Durham
    Posts
    98

    Re: Yet another golfing Rule myth...

    In a golf society a couple of weeks ago a fella said if your ball bounces before going OOB then your allowed to drop it where it bounced rather than retake the shot from original position

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Latest Golf News

Sergio Garcia Swing Analysis

Here we take an in-depth look at the swing of 2017 Masters Champion Sergio Garcia

February 23, 2018

Tiger Woods To Hit “Four Or Five” Drivers A Day At Honda Classic

The 14-time major winner will surely hit more fairways this week at PGA National, revealing he's only going to hit "four or five" drivers per round

February 22, 2018

Smarter Ways to Lower Scores 2018 powered by Cobra Puma Golf

2 golfers will get the chance to lower their scores the ‘smarter way’ this year via our bigger and better 'Smarter Ways to Lower Scores 2018' project powered by Cobra Puma Golf

February 21, 2018

4 Ways to Improve Your Short Game Strikes

In this video, GM Top 25 coach John Jacobs shows 4 fail-safe chipping methods to help you stop wasting shots around the greens

February 21, 2018

Jim Furyk Names Woods And Stricker As Ryder Cup Vice Captains

Woods and Stricker will join Davis Love III as Jim Furyk's vice captains at Le Golf National

February 21, 2018