Page 8 of 12 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast
Results 71 to 80 of 111
  1. #71
    Journeyman Pro Orikoru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Watford
    Posts
    2,379

    Re: Yet another golfing Rule myth...

    Quote Originally Posted by rosecott View Post
    We don't.
    Basically everyone I've ever played with has been under that impression.
    • TaylorMade R11-S (12°)
    • Adams Speedline Fast 12 5 wood (17°)
    • Benross HTX 3 hybrid (20°)
    • Callaway Steelhead XR irons 5-PW
    • Cleveland RTX-3 (50°)
    • Cleveland RTX Rotex 2.0 (56°)
    • Odyssey Works 1W putter
    • DX2 Optix
    H'cap J F M A M J J A S O N D Review
    2017: 24 24.2 24.4 22.8 22.9 22.9 21.9
    2018: 22.0 21.2 21.4

  2. #72
    Blackballed
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    7,071

    Re: Yet another golfing Rule myth...

    can't hold the flag while you put .

  3. #73
    Blackballed
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    7,071

    Re: Yet another golfing Rule myth...

    Quote Originally Posted by Orikoru View Post
    Basically everyone I've ever played with has been under that impression.
    I've never heard anyone say it.

  4. #74
    Money List Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    8,958

    Re: Yet another golfing Rule myth...

    Quote Originally Posted by Orikoru View Post
    Well in that case, back to my original question - why do the vast majority believe you can't attend the flag when you're off the green?
    I have absolutely no idea.

    Lord Tyron makes a good case for such situations in general; it only takes one opinionated but wrong individual to create most myths whilst clearing them up is next to impossible.
    The other issue is detail - as evidenced in posts here, confusion quickly arises from a lack of attention to detail; and people quickly switch off when the detail level goes up.

    Finally, many who know won't get involved with throw away rules comments and in bar room rules discussions because it's not cool to 'know the rules'.
    some metal woods,
    any old irons,
    Pick up balls....

    12.2 and moving the wrong way again...

  5. #75
    Major Champion SwingsitlikeHogan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    18,480

    Re: Yet another golfing Rule myth...

    Quote Originally Posted by Orikoru View Post
    Well in that case, back to my original question - why do the vast majority believe you can't attend the flag when you're off the green?
    Because they haven't been educated on the rule by those they play with - who may also not know the rule.
    to infinity and beyond...

    ...well from 10.0 to 9.4 this year would be nice.

    And last medal of the year (Oct) saw me play to handicap but CSS was +1 so that was me down 0.2 from 8.3 to 8.1

    Job done

  6. #76
    Hacker
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Suffolk
    Posts
    23

    Re: Yet another golfing Rule myth...

    At my previous club, as a new member, I was playing against the senior men's captain. I shanked my ball off the tee and it landed in really thick grass 5m away. I declared it unplayable to which he announced that I can't declare it unplayable as "it was just in long grass and it could be hit at".
    Handicap: 21.0: My main fault: I stand too close to the ball... after I've hit it.

  7. #77
    Major Champion SwingsitlikeHogan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    18,480

    Re: Yet another golfing Rule myth...

    Quote Originally Posted by Dave1963 View Post
    At my previous club, as a new member, I was playing against the senior men's captain. I shanked my ball off the tee and it landed in really thick grass 5m away. I declared it unplayable to which he announced that I can't declare it unplayable as "it was just in long grass and it could be hit at".
    Ah - the 'unplayable' myth. What would he have thought if you'd putted off a green into the middle of the fairway - and had then decided to take Stroke & Distance and put the ball back to where you had putted it from back on the green
    to infinity and beyond...

    ...well from 10.0 to 9.4 this year would be nice.

    And last medal of the year (Oct) saw me play to handicap but CSS was +1 so that was me down 0.2 from 8.3 to 8.1

    Job done

  8. #78
    Journeyman Pro Orikoru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Watford
    Posts
    2,379

    Re: Yet another golfing Rule myth...

    Quote Originally Posted by duncan mackie View Post
    I have absolutely no idea.

    Lord Tyron makes a good case for such situations in general; it only takes one opinionated but wrong individual to create most myths whilst clearing them up is next to impossible.
    The other issue is detail - as evidenced in posts here, confusion quickly arises from a lack of attention to detail; and people quickly switch off when the detail level goes up.

    Finally, many who know won't get involved with throw away rules comments and in bar room rules discussions because it's not cool to 'know the rules'.
    Quote Originally Posted by SwingsitlikeHogan View Post
    Because they haven't been educated on the rule by those they play with - who may also not know the rule.
    I just found stuff like that really interesting. If it's never been the rule, then someone, somewhere, must have literally just made it up and said you can't attend the flag if you're off the green, and everyone believed them and it spread like wildfire. Almost makes me think maybe it was in a film or something. Bizarre.
    • TaylorMade R11-S (12°)
    • Adams Speedline Fast 12 5 wood (17°)
    • Benross HTX 3 hybrid (20°)
    • Callaway Steelhead XR irons 5-PW
    • Cleveland RTX-3 (50°)
    • Cleveland RTX Rotex 2.0 (56°)
    • Odyssey Works 1W putter
    • DX2 Optix
    H'cap J F M A M J J A S O N D Review
    2017: 24 24.2 24.4 22.8 22.9 22.9 21.9
    2018: 22.0 21.2 21.4

  9. #79
    Major Champion SwingsitlikeHogan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    18,480

    Re: Yet another golfing Rule myth...

    Quote Originally Posted by Orikoru View Post
    I just found stuff like that really interesting. If it's never been the rule, then someone, somewhere, must have literally just made it up and said you can't attend the flag if you're off the green, and everyone believed them and it spread like wildfire. Almost makes me think maybe it was in a film or something. Bizarre.
    It may simply be because of the most basic rules we must learn when taking up the game - one being that if our ball strikes the flag stick when we are playing from on the green, then there is a penalty. No ifs - no buts...until we add in that a.n.other can attend the flag. And the learning does not extend beyond that point. There is no equivalent flag-related very basic rule when playing from off the green (that immediately comes to mind). And the basic learning becomes the rules.
    to infinity and beyond...

    ...well from 10.0 to 9.4 this year would be nice.

    And last medal of the year (Oct) saw me play to handicap but CSS was +1 so that was me down 0.2 from 8.3 to 8.1

    Job done

  10. #80
    Major Champion chrisd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    19,305

    Re: Yet another golfing Rule myth...

    Quote Originally Posted by Orikoru View Post
    Basically everyone I've ever played with has been under that impression.
    Yet I've never ever had that one queried
    removed list of clubs as they change too frequently !

    Handicap 12.0

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Latest Golf News

BMW PGA Championship 2018 Tee Times: Round Three

Leader Rory McIlroy tees off at 1.20pm in the final group with Sam Horsfield

May 25, 2018

WATCH: Thomas Pieters Snaps Club On His Neck

The Belgian showed some anger, as well as serious neck strength, in snapping his club during the BMW PGA Championship

May 25, 2018

Noren After Playing With McIlroy: “I’m About To Quit Golf”

The Swede joked he would give the game up after witnessing McIlroy's 65 on day two of the BMW PGA Championship

May 25, 2018

Rory McIlroy Lights Up Wentworth With 65 To Lead BMW PGA

The four-time major winner is in a commanding position after 36 holes

May 25, 2018

Kevin Na And Caddie Have Hilarious Exchange On Way To Birdie

Kevin Na went for a miracle shot despite his caddie disagreeing. It led to a birdie

May 25, 2018