Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 99
  1. #31
    Major Champion SwingsitlikeHogan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    17,466

    Re: Yet another golfing Rule myth...

    I was once a 'mentor' for one of our academy ladies. One time I took her out to play a few holes I noticed she was spending an inordinate amount of time teeing the ball up. Teeing it up. Looking at it. Taking tee out and re-teeing and then she looked at me frustrated - and commented 'it's so hard to make sure you get the ball exactly on the line between the two markers'
    to infinity and beyond...

    ...well from 10.0 to 9.4 this year would be nice.

    And with just the October medal to go - I've got to 8.3

    Job done

  2. #32
    Tour Rookie
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Yeovil
    Posts
    1,416

    Re: Yet another golfing Rule myth...

    Quote Originally Posted by paddyk View Post
    you must mark your ball any time you pick it up.

    Please be more specific about when you do not need to mark the position of the ball before lifting it.
    Handicap 9 (was 6, now showing my age)An absolute miss mash of clubs

  3. #33
    Assistant Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    165

    Re: Yet another golfing Rule myth...

    “You can only replace your ball when it’s your turn to putt. “
    As an advocate of ready golf i mark it, and line it immediately so I’m ready. He didn’t think that was allowed.

    Big argument after that one.

  4. #34
    Tour Rookie
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Yeovil
    Posts
    1,416

    Re: Yet another golfing Rule myth...

    Quote Originally Posted by Lord Tyrion View Post
    In Ready Golf it is all irrelevant. Whoever is ready first, fill your boots.
    But not in match play.
    Handicap 9 (was 6, now showing my age)An absolute miss mash of clubs

  5. #35
    Money List Winner paddyk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    7,051

    Re: Yet another golfing Rule myth...

    Quote Originally Posted by jim8flog View Post
    Please be more specific about when you do not need to mark the position of the ball before lifting it.
    why ?

  6. #36
    Head Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    279

    Re: Yet another golfing Rule myth...

    Quote Originally Posted by paddyk View Post
    why ?
    So that we can learn and avoid an infringement?

  7. #37
    Money List Winner Lord Tyrion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Northumberland
    Posts
    8,436

    Re: Yet another golfing Rule myth...

    Quote Originally Posted by jim8flog View Post
    But not in match play.
    Quite right. Pedants corner 😁

  8. #38
    Major Champion SwingsitlikeHogan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    17,466

    Re: Yet another golfing Rule myth...

    Quote Originally Posted by DaveR View Post
    So that we can learn and avoid an infringement?
    He might be winding you up I do not have to mark my ball if I decide such as: I am out of the hole; I will not be able to score any stableford points; the ball to be lifted was a provisional and I have decided I am not going to need it.

    Of course he might not be If you are through the green and can be 100% confident of where your ball is sitting and you are taking relief you can lift without marking as we are only advised to mark the position of our ball. Of course this leaves you very open to confusion, complaints and accusations if you replace or drop it under the rules relative to a position different to that which the others you are playing with consider where it was before being lifted. Plus measuring and checking distance relative to your ball position become tricky if you have not marked where your ball was as rest.
    Last edited by SwingsitlikeHogan; 12-Feb-2018 at 17:43.
    to infinity and beyond...

    ...well from 10.0 to 9.4 this year would be nice.

    And with just the October medal to go - I've got to 8.3

    Job done

  9. #39
    Tour Rookie
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Yeovil
    Posts
    1,416

    Re: Yet another golfing Rule myth...

    Quote Originally Posted by paddyk View Post
    why ?
    Because I can think of a lot of occasions when you must mark the position of the ball before lifting it.

    Eg under the allowable winter rule before cleaning and placing, lifting to identify it, lifting it to remove a movable obstruction (eg stone in a bunker).
    Handicap 9 (was 6, now showing my age)An absolute miss mash of clubs

  10. #40
    Money List Winner bladeplayer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Emerald Isle
    Posts
    8,774

    Re: Yet another golfing Rule myth...

    U can never have more than 14 clubs in ur bag or its a penalty

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Latest Golf News

Tiger Woods To Hit “Four Or Five” Drivers A Day At Honda Classic

The 14-time major winner will surely hit more fairways this week at PGA National, revealing he's only going to hit "four or five" drivers per round

February 22, 2018

Smarter Ways to Lower Scores 2018 powered by Cobra Puma Golf

2 golfers will get the chance to lower their scores the ‘smarter way’ this year via our bigger and better 'Smarter Ways to Lower Scores 2018' project powered by Cobra Puma Golf

February 21, 2018

4 Ways to Improve Your Short Game Strikes

In this video, GM Top 25 coach John Jacobs shows 4 fail-safe chipping methods to help you stop wasting shots around the greens

February 21, 2018

Jim Furyk Names Woods And Stricker As Ryder Cup Vice Captains

Woods and Stricker will join Davis Love III as Jim Furyk's vice captains at Le Golf National

February 21, 2018

The Honda Classic Golf Betting Tips

A strong European contingent has assembled in Florida, check out who we think will do well with these The Honda Classic Golf Betting Tips

February 20, 2018