Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 94
  1. #61
    Money List Winner rosecott's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Notts
    Posts
    5,750

    Re: Ball unplayable - play provisional instead?

    Quote Originally Posted by Cabby View Post
    That's news to me, it's my understanding you can declare a ball lost at anytime, whether your PP's find after you declare it lost is irrelevant.
    Here we go again.

  2. #62
    Head Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    398

    Re: Ball unplayable - play provisional instead?

    Quote Originally Posted by rosecott View Post
    Here we go again.
    Yes, just another Rules myth to be debunked - for at least the 100th time!

  3. #63
    Journeyman Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    1,791

    Re: Ball unplayable - play provisional instead?

    Quote Originally Posted by rosecott View Post
    Here we go again.
    Quote Originally Posted by rulie View Post
    Yes, just another Rules myth to be debunked - for at least the 100th time!

    My apologies, I've not really followed this topic.

    Jeezo, been playing under that understanding for the past 40+ years to..

  4. #64
    Money List Winner rosecott's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Notts
    Posts
    5,750

    Re: Ball unplayable - play provisional instead?

    Quote Originally Posted by Cabby View Post
    My apologies, I've not really followed this topic.

    Jeezo, been playing under that understanding for the past 40+ years to..
    For the 101st time:

    27/16Ball Declared Lost Is Found Before Another Ball Put into Play

    Q.A player searched for his ball for two minutes, declared it lost and started back to play another ball at the spot from which the original ball was played. Before he put another ball into play, his original ball was found within the five-minute period allowed for search. What is the ruling?

    A.A player cannot render a ball lost by a declaration - see Definition of "Lost Ball." The original ball remained in play - see Definition of "Ball in Play."

  5. #65
    Journeyman Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    1,791

    Re: Ball unplayable - play provisional instead?

    That's not quite how I was thinking. I was thinking....hacks ball in to deep bundy....plays provisional, then before searching, declares ball lost and elects to play provisional. I am aware the instance you state.

  6. #66
    Major Champion SwingsitlikeHogan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    18,480

    Re: Ball unplayable - play provisional instead?

    Quote Originally Posted by rosecott View Post
    I reckon he just rendered it lost by putting another ball in play without comment.
    Well not quite - after an 'oh dearie me' I just went to my bag - took a ball out - and told my playing companions that I was putting a new ball into play; and so nobody was mistaken about my intentions I also said - this is not a provisional it is a new ball being put into play - so I am playing 3. And so as soon as I hit it, my original ball was dead and an irrelevance to my subsequent play and score for the hole.
    to infinity and beyond...

    ...well from 10.0 to 9.4 this year would be nice.

    And last medal of the year (Oct) saw me play to handicap but CSS was +1 so that was me down 0.2 from 8.3 to 8.1

    Job done

  7. #67
    Journeyman Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    1,791

    Re: Ball unplayable - play provisional instead?

    Quote Originally Posted by SwingsitlikeHogan View Post
    And so as soon as I hit it, my original ball was dead and an irrelevance to my subsequent play and score for the hole.
    Indeed, and as soon as you declare your ball lost it is dead, regardless if your PP's look for it and find it.

  8. #68
    Money List Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    8,966

    Re: Ball unplayable - play provisional instead?

    Quote Originally Posted by Cabby View Post
    That's not quite how I was thinking. I was thinking....hacks ball in to deep bundy....plays provisional, then before searching, declares ball lost and elects to play provisional. I am aware the instance you state.
    In your example the declaration is also irrelevant. If your original ball is only lost when the definition of lost is met and making such a declaration isn't one of the things that results in it becoming lost.
    some metal woods,
    any old irons,
    Pick up balls....

    12.2 and moving the wrong way again...

  9. #69
    Money List Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    8,966

    Re: Ball unplayable - play provisional instead?

    Quote Originally Posted by Cabby View Post
    Indeed, and as soon as you declare your ball lost it is dead, regardless if your PP's look for it and find it.
    No (again)
    some metal woods,
    any old irons,
    Pick up balls....

    12.2 and moving the wrong way again...

  10. #70
    Major Champion SwingsitlikeHogan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    18,480

    Re: Ball unplayable - play provisional instead?

    Quote Originally Posted by Maninblack4612 View Post
    [/B]But this is precisely what happens when you deliberately ignore your first ball because your provisional is down the middle.
    I can choose to ignore it if I want - I take the risk that my original might be lying perfectly and I have a clear shot, or indeed it might have rebounded away from where I and companions thought it was and may be sitting somewhere else completely in the clear. I take the choice of playing four against what I might find - the two are not equivalent - I am not choosing between two apples. And I cannot stop someone - anyone going to look for it. And if it is found before I hit my provisional then I cannot play my provisional - no choice there.
    Last edited by SwingsitlikeHogan; 12-Feb-2018 at 17:32.
    to infinity and beyond...

    ...well from 10.0 to 9.4 this year would be nice.

    And last medal of the year (Oct) saw me play to handicap but CSS was +1 so that was me down 0.2 from 8.3 to 8.1

    Job done

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Latest Golf News

Francesco Molinari wins BMW PGA Championship

Italy’s Francesco Molinari produced a final round of 68 at Wentworth to win the BMW PGA Championship by two shots from Northern Ireland’s Rory McIlroy.

May 27, 2018

BMW PGA Championship 2018 Tee Times: Round Three

Leader Rory McIlroy tees off at 1.20pm in the final group with Sam Horsfield

May 25, 2018

WATCH: Thomas Pieters Snaps Club On His Neck

The Belgian showed some anger, as well as serious neck strength, in snapping his club during the BMW PGA Championship

May 25, 2018

Noren After Playing With McIlroy: “I’m About To Quit Golf”

The Swede joked he would give the game up after witnessing McIlroy's 65 on day two of the BMW PGA Championship

May 25, 2018

Rory McIlroy Lights Up Wentworth With 65 To Lead BMW PGA

The four-time major winner is in a commanding position after 36 holes

May 25, 2018