Page 1 of 13 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 123
  1. #1
    Journeyman Pro 2blue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Happy Leeds,
    Posts
    1,728

    Retrieving a card from the Comp Box

    Are there any circumstances where this would be acceptable?
    EG..... Boxed by 3rd Party without players permission or them having chance to check & sign in?
    Any other scenarios where Card owner is not to blame for the Boxing?
    2Blue H/cap 10.3 ..... H4H H/cap Challenge against - Louise_a

    http://www.leedsgolfcentre.com/

  2. #2
    Major Champion bobmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Lincolnshire
    Posts
    19,823

    Re: Retrieving a card from the Comp Box

    If someone handed in someone else's card before they had a chance to sign it, I wouldn't have a problem retrieving the card
    Mad inventor of the www.v-easy.co.uk A knowledgeable person knows lots of stuff, a wise person keeps it to themself

  3. #3
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    3,525

    Re: Retrieving a card from the Comp Box

    It would be at the discretion of the Committee and the player would have to show that he had no control of the fate of his card.
    Having it in his hand after the marker has signed would preclude any claim IMO.

  4. #4
    Journeyman Pro 2blue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Happy Leeds,
    Posts
    1,728

    Re: Retrieving a card from the Comp Box

    Quote Originally Posted by rulefan View Post
    It would be at the discretion of the Committee and the player would have to show that he had no control of the fate of his card.
    Having it in his hand after the marker has signed would preclude any claim IMO.
    I like this criteria ^^^^^^
    Pretty much sorts it out providing one is related the true situation but then that applies to so many scenarios.
    2Blue H/cap 10.3 ..... H4H H/cap Challenge against - Louise_a

    http://www.leedsgolfcentre.com/

  5. #5
    Ryder Cup Winner FairwayDodger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    9,632

    Re: Retrieving a card from the Comp Box

    Does it matter even if the player realised he hadn't signed it after he posted it? What's the harm in letting him retrieve and sign it?

  6. #6
    Major Champion bobmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Lincolnshire
    Posts
    19,823

    Re: Retrieving a card from the Comp Box

    Quote Originally Posted by FairwayDodger View Post
    Does it matter even if the player realised he hadn't signed it after he posted it? What's the harm in letting him retrieve and sign it?
    The world would end
    Mad inventor of the www.v-easy.co.uk A knowledgeable person knows lots of stuff, a wise person keeps it to themself

  7. #7
    Ryder Cup Winner fundy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Milton Keynes, Bucks
    Posts
    12,742

    Re: Retrieving a card from the Comp Box

    club ive just left would allow card to be signed after it had gone in the box if someone realised before they left, really have no problem with it albeit i know some will
    In the bag:
    TM M1 9.5 degree
    TM M1 17 degree hybrid
    Orka RS1/RS3 Irons 3-PW
    Orka RS10 Wedges 52,56,60
    Ping Ketsch

    Handicap: 7

  8. #8
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    3,525

    Re: Retrieving a card from the Comp Box

    Quote Originally Posted by FairwayDodger View Post
    Does it matter even if the player realised he hadn't signed it after he posted it? What's the harm in letting him retrieve and sign it?
    If you are asking about the Rule, Rule 6-6c prohibits alterations to the score card "after the competitor has returned it to the Committee."

  9. #9
    Ryder Cup Winner FairwayDodger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    9,632

    Re: Retrieving a card from the Comp Box

    Quote Originally Posted by rulefan View Post
    If you are asking about the Rule, Rule 6-6c prohibits alterations to the score card "after the competitor has returned it to the Committee."
    No I realise the rule just think that life’s too short to get hung up on an easily rectified admin error like that.

  10. #10
    Journeyman Pro 2blue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Happy Leeds,
    Posts
    1,728

    Re: Retrieving a card from the Comp Box

    Quote Originally Posted by rulefan View Post
    If you are asking about the Rule, Rule 6-6c prohibits alterations to the score card "after the competitor has returned it to the Committee."
    For me the real problem is...... how many other rules are we going to ignore/modify whether that's on or off the course & how will folk know where they stand in any given situation.
    The simpler & clearer the rules the better..... but it won't suit everyone as so many golfers believe its the duty of others to help put right, their errors/carelessness.
    2Blue H/cap 10.3 ..... H4H H/cap Challenge against - Louise_a

    http://www.leedsgolfcentre.com/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Latest Golf News