Page 6 of 13 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 123
  1. #51
    Tour Rookie
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    1,271

    Re: Retrieving a card from the Comp Box

    Put a little feint signature on your card right at the start



    Then at the end go over it with your proper signature.



    If you forget to go over at the end, the feint signature will be fine.

  2. #52
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    4,599

    Re: Retrieving a card from the Comp Box

    Quote Originally Posted by bobmac View Post
    What is the penalty for signing for an incorrect scorcard?
    As you well know but omitted to make clear, it depends on the circumstances.

    #46 implies that DQ is always the penalty.

  3. #53
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    2,881

    Re: Retrieving a card from the Comp Box

    Quote Originally Posted by Dasit View Post
    Put a little feint signature on your card right at the start



    Then at the end go over it with your proper signature.



    If you forget to go over at the end, the feint signature will be fine.
    If you want to sign it faintly before you start, why not just sign it boldly and only have to do it once?

  4. #54
    Money List Winner rosecott's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Notts
    Posts
    5,769

    Re: Retrieving a card from the Comp Box

    Quote Originally Posted by Dasit View Post
    Put a little feint signature on your card right at the start



    Then at the end go over it with your proper signature.



    If you forget to go over at the end, the feint signature will be fine.
    As I've said more times than I've had hot dinners, it's not the existence of the signature that is important, it's a statement of "I've checked the gross scores with my marker".

  5. #55
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    4,599

    Re: Retrieving a card from the Comp Box

    Quote Originally Posted by rosecott View Post
    As I've said more times than I've had hot dinners, .....
    And you've been told a million times not to exaggerate.

  6. #56
    Grand Slam Winner bobmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Lincolnshire
    Posts
    20,183

    Re: Retrieving a card from the Comp Box

    Quote Originally Posted by rosecott View Post
    As I've said more times than I've had hot dinners, it's not the existence of the signature that is important, it's a statement of "I've checked the gross scores with my marker".
    Really?


    As you well know but omitted to make clear, it depends on the circumstances.

    The point I was making was you could return a signed card with the wrong score (which could affect the players handicap and/or the results of the competition and only get a 2 shot penalty if the error was discovered.

    Whereas returning a correct score but not signed is a DQ

    It's the imbalance of the punishment I am questioning


    Perhaps a future rule change could reduce the DQ to a 2 shot penalty as they have done in other circumstances
    Mad inventor of the www.v-easy.co.uk A knowledgeable person knows lots of stuff, a wise person keeps it to themself

  7. #57
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    4,599

    Re: Retrieving a card from the Comp Box

    Quote Originally Posted by bobmac View Post
    The point I was making was you could return a signed card with the wrong score (which could affect the players handicap and/or the results of the competition and only get a 2 shot penalty if the error was discovered.

    What error?

    Except in one specific case relating to an unknown rule breach, the penalty for a wrong score is DQ.
    Last edited by rulefan; 11-Jan-2018 at 13:02.

  8. #58
    Grand Slam Winner bobmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Lincolnshire
    Posts
    20,183

    Re: Retrieving a card from the Comp Box

    Quote Originally Posted by rulefan View Post
    Except in one specific case relating to an unknown rule breach, the penalty for a wrong score is DQ.
    I know.
    Mad inventor of the www.v-easy.co.uk A knowledgeable person knows lots of stuff, a wise person keeps it to themself

  9. #59
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    4,599

    Re: Retrieving a card from the Comp Box

    Quote Originally Posted by bobmac View Post
    I know.
    Why do you concentrate on the rare exception, which is really a penalty for not being aware of a rule? It's not really about entering the wrong no of strokes played.

    It will probably never crop up in club competition.

  10. #60
    Grand Slam Winner bobmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Lincolnshire
    Posts
    20,183

    Re: Retrieving a card from the Comp Box

    I should know better

    I'm out
    Mad inventor of the www.v-easy.co.uk A knowledgeable person knows lots of stuff, a wise person keeps it to themself

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Latest Golf News

Mickelson “Embarrassed And Disappointed” After US Open Penalty

The five-time major winner has revealed that he is embarrassed and disappointed by his episode last week

June 20, 2018

Why Do Golfers Shout Fore?

What is the etymology of this golfing word of warning?

June 20, 2018

Five-Time Open Champion Peter Thomson Passes Away

The Australian, Peter Thomson, was one of golf’s finest players throughout the 1950s and 1960s, lifting the Claret Jug on five occasions

June 20, 2018

Jordan Spieth On Mickelson Incident: “I Laughed”

The Texan saw the funny side of Mickelson's moving ball debacle and didn't see the harm in it

June 20, 2018

Dad Makes Birdie After Son Finds Ball Down Animal Hole

A competitor in the PGA Professionals Championship at the weekend made an incredible birdie after his son retrieved it from down an animal hole

June 19, 2018