Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 41
  1. #1
    Money List Winner Slab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Port Louis
    Posts
    5,304

    Must I strike the ball first?

    Situation is: Ball in red staked hazard, but dry, and comes to rest side by side and touching a stone (roughly golf ball sized)


    Even if I could accurately nick just the ball forward or back without touching the stone, other obstacles mean its not an option


    Is it within the rules to address and play it a bit like a snooker canon shot i.e address at the back of the stone so I'd hit the stone first which then moves the ball x distance (hopefully back into play)

    And does the answer change if ball/stone are not touching?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Head Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Leicester
    Posts
    435

    Re: Must I strike the ball first?

    Yes

  3. #3
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    4,459

    Re: Must I strike the ball first?

    you can hit the stone first as long as its on the downswing. is that what you mean?

  4. #4
    Challenge Tour Pro mikejohnchapman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Dorset
    Posts
    605

    Re: Must I strike the ball first?

    Not sure why you would want to but if you are making a stroke at the ball you could hit anything on the downswing. Could be a reed or grass or an acorn ......

    Not sure a one shot penalty would be worth the damage to a club though.
    Callaway XR16 Driver
    Titleist 915 F 3 Wood
    Titleist 910 H 18 Deg Hybrid
    Mizuno H5 4 Iron
    Mizuno JPX 900 5-PW
    Titleist Vokey 50, 54 & 58 Deg Wedges
    Scotty Camerion Newport DB putter

    H/c 4.7

  5. #5
    Money List Winner Slab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Port Louis
    Posts
    5,304

    Re: Must I strike the ball first?

    Cheers guys

    Hovis: yes on the downswing
    Mike: Yeah I'd considered that on many shots other 'materials' might well get hit before club-face makes contact with the ball. I just wondered about the terminology used in the definitions of a stroke that says "striking at and moving the ball" when I was striking at (a stone) and moving the ball


    Re damage, I carry a scrap club when faced with lies likely to damage/score the club and anyway in this case the drop options didn't clear the tree-line for next shot so I wanted an extra few meters

  6. #6
    Tour Rookie
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    1,109

    Re: Must I strike the ball first?

    In a bunker you deliberately hit lots of tiny stones to pop the ball up...

  7. #7
    Money List Winner Slab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Port Louis
    Posts
    5,304

    Re: Must I strike the ball first?

    Quote Originally Posted by pendodave View Post
    In a bunker you deliberately hit lots of tiny stones to pop the ball up...
    True enough, although a Bunker and a Lateral Water Hazard are defined differently in the rules so just wanted to check on other potential differences

  8. #8
    Tour Rookie
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Yeovil
    Posts
    1,230

    Re: Must I strike the ball first?

    Tiger Woods is famous for doing this after a ref declare the stone was not a loose impediment because it was partially embedded.

    Mind you had I been his caddy at the time I would have told him not to be so stupid, the 'stone' was not small.

  9. #9
    Challenge Tour Pro mikejohnchapman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Dorset
    Posts
    605

    Re: Must I strike the ball first?

    Quote Originally Posted by jim8flog View Post
    Tiger Woods is famous for doing this after a ref declare the stone was not a loose impediment because it was partially embedded.

    Mind you had I been his caddy at the time I would have told him not to be so stupid, the 'stone' was not small.
    They stopped that afterwards by saying the impediment had to be easily moveable. If ever there was an example of something within the rules not being in the spirit of the rules that was it.
    Callaway XR16 Driver
    Titleist 915 F 3 Wood
    Titleist 910 H 18 Deg Hybrid
    Mizuno H5 4 Iron
    Mizuno JPX 900 5-PW
    Titleist Vokey 50, 54 & 58 Deg Wedges
    Scotty Camerion Newport DB putter

    H/c 4.7

  10. #10
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    4,110

    Re: Must I strike the ball first?

    Quote Originally Posted by mikejohnchapman View Post
    They stopped that afterwards by saying the impediment had to be easily moveable. If ever there was an example of something within the rules not being in the spirit of the rules that was it.
    The rule re loose impediments was not changed and makes no reference to it being 'easily moved.

    I think you may be confusing it with movable obstructions, which had nothing to do with Woods.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Latest Golf News

Rory McIlroy What’s In The Bag?

Take a look at what clubs Rory McIlroy is carrying including the new TaylorMade M3 driver

January 24, 2018

Joaquin Niemann wins LAAC and earns Masters start

Joaquin Niemann of Chile fired a spectacular final round 63 to win the Latin America Amateur Championship at the Prince of Wales CC in Santiago, Chile. The World’s Number 1 amateur golfer, Niemann has earned a start in the 2018 Masters.

January 23, 2018

Farmers Insurance Open Golf Betting Tips

The PGA Tour travel to Torrey Pines in sunny California check out who we think will do well with these Farmers Insurance Open Golf Betting Tips

January 23, 2018

Tiger Returns As Rahm Defends Farmers Insurance Open

The PGA Tour is back at Torrey Pines this week featuring world number two and defending champion Jon Rahm whilst Tiger Woods makes his first start of 2018

January 23, 2018

Omega Dubai Desert Classic Preview

Read our preview of this week's Dubai Desert Classic where Sergio Garcia defends against a strong field at Emirates GC

January 23, 2018