Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30

Thread: Drop zone rule

  1. #1
    Journeyman Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Havering
    Posts
    2,170

    Drop zone rule

    Question

    playing today something came up with one my PP

    par 3, 145 yards over water

    PP steps up hits into the water

    takes a drop from point of entry hits again into water

    when we get to green we find a drop zone for the hole..... in front of the water

    we all agreed to let him take a drop from there instead and he got a point on the hole

    was this right? is it like a provisional?

    there was nothing on the card about a drop zone but it was clearly marked when we got to the green but not mentioned on the tee
    In the bag
    TM M2 10.5 Driver
    TM M2 3 wood
    Ping G15 5 wood
    TM Jetspeed 3 Hybrid
    TM Jetspeed 4 Hybrid
    Titliest 716 ap1 6-PW
    SM5 vokey wedges 50, 54 , 58 degree
    Odyssey White Hot Pro 2.0 2 Ball with superstroke mid 2.0 grip

  2. #2
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    4,479

    Re: Drop zone rule

    Quote Originally Posted by pauljames87 View Post
    Question

    playing today something came up with one my PP

    par 3, 145 yards over water

    PP steps up hits into the water

    takes a drop from point of entry hits again into water

    when we get to green we find a drop zone for the hole..... in front of the water

    we all agreed to let him take a drop from there instead and he got a point on the hole

    was this right? is it like a provisional?

    there was nothing on the card about a drop zone but it was clearly marked when we got to the green but not mentioned on the tee
    1 - stroke off the tee hit into water
    2 - penalty drop
    3 - stroke from in front of water hit into water
    4 - penalty drop on DZ
    5 - stroke from DZ
    6 -->

    Unless the missing local rule had said a drop from the DZ was compulsory. In which case it gets a bit more complicated

  3. #3
    Journeyman Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Havering
    Posts
    2,170

    Re: Drop zone rule

    Quote Originally Posted by rulefan View Post
    1 - stroke off the tee hit into water
    2 - penalty drop
    3 - stroke from in front of water hit into water
    4 - penalty drop on DZ
    5 - stroke from DZ
    6 -->

    Unless the missing local rule had said a drop from the DZ was compulsory. In which case it gets a bit more complicated
    We agreed that because there was no mention of the drop zone he could forget about the drop in front of the water

    Sounds like wrong call now but seemed unfair he was punished for us not knowing about a drop zone

    Given the choice anyone would pick drop zone considering it meant playing a 30 yard chip for 3

  4. #4
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    4,479

    Re: Drop zone rule

    Further to my post above, the positioning of the DZ is contrary to the rules.

    33-8/2 Local Rule Allows Drop on Green Side of Water Hazard When Ball Fails to Clear Hazard

    Q.The design of a hole is such that a player must hit the ball about 100 yards in order to carry a water hazard. A Local Rule has been adopted to assist players who cannot drive over the hazard by allowing them to drop a ball, under penalty of two strokes, in a dropping zone that is located across the hazard. Is such a Local Rule authorized?

    A.No. Such a Local Rule substantially alters Rule 26-1b as it allows the player to drop a ball on a part of the course (i.e., on the green side of the water hazard) that the Rule would not have permitted him to reach. Furthermore, the penalty for taking relief under the water hazard Rule (Rule 26) is one stroke, and may not be increased to two strokes by a Committee through a Local Rule - see Rule 33-8b.

  5. #5
    Journeyman Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Havering
    Posts
    2,170

    Re: Drop zone rule

    I noticed all the drop zones were on the other side of water hazards on the par 3s

  6. #6
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    4,479

    Re: Drop zone rule

    Quote Originally Posted by pauljames87 View Post
    I noticed all the drop zones were on the other side of water hazards on the par 3s
    If the course is in the CONGU area, no comps would be qualifiers.

  7. #7
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    2,852

    Re: Drop zone rule

    Quote Originally Posted by pauljames87 View Post
    We agreed that because there was no mention of the drop zone he could forget about the drop in front of the water

    Sounds like wrong call now but seemed unfair he was punished for us not knowing about a drop zone

    Given the choice anyone would pick drop zone considering it meant playing a 30 yard chip for 3
    You can of course be sympathised with for not know the drop zone was there since, as rulefan points out, it shouldn't have been there! Sadly, however, the player has to count the first penalty drop and shot from the water hazard.

  8. #8
    Journeyman Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Havering
    Posts
    2,170

    Re: Drop zone rule

    this is where I find golf rules baffling and inconsistent

    if you were on the tee and hit a ball but unsure where it is you play a provisional

    if you get up there and find its gone in a ditch you didnt see that has stakes you dont play the provisional you play a drop from the hazard

    dont understand why this cant be applied to this situation
    In the bag
    TM M2 10.5 Driver
    TM M2 3 wood
    Ping G15 5 wood
    TM Jetspeed 3 Hybrid
    TM Jetspeed 4 Hybrid
    Titliest 716 ap1 6-PW
    SM5 vokey wedges 50, 54 , 58 degree
    Odyssey White Hot Pro 2.0 2 Ball with superstroke mid 2.0 grip

  9. #9
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    2,852

    Re: Drop zone rule

    Quote Originally Posted by pauljames87 View Post
    this is where I find golf rules baffling and inconsistent

    if you were on the tee and hit a ball but unsure where it is you play a provisional

    if you get up there and find its gone in a ditch you didnt see that has stakes you dont play the provisional you play a drop from the hazard

    dont understand why this cant be applied to this situation
    The reason you don't carry on with a provisional is that you don't have to find your original ball in a water hazard. Provided you know or are "virtually certain" that your ball is in the hazard it isn't "lost" in the sense used in the rules and you must proceed in the same as if you had found your ball by dropping under the water hazard rule [26]. Which you did. But that is less expensive than playing your provisional. If you put your tee shot into a water hazard and cannot find it as in your situation, you are playing three after your penalty drop whereas playing your provisional would be your 4th shot.

    Anyway what your friend did was different. He played correctly under the water hazard rule by taking a drop behind the hazard but unfotunately drowned that ball as well. He then played correctly by dropping in the newly found DZ. The only point at which he could have played a provisional was from the tee if he thought his ball could be out of bounds or lost. Had he done so he would have had to abandon it when he became certain that his original ball was in the water hazard. He broke no rules; he was just unaware of the DZ first time round and you don't any concessions in golf for being unaware. Like the time I wondered why my 6 iron shot was so ridiculously short only to discover I had my 9 iron in hand. No concessions, no chance of a mulligan but a good chance of much friendly slagging in the bar.
    Last edited by Colin L; 29-Sep-2017 at 10:14.

  10. #10
    Journeyman Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Havering
    Posts
    2,170

    Re: Drop zone rule

    I think clubs should put a sign on tee saying if you hit the water please use the drop zone

    How else would you know there is one

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Latest Golf News

Zurich Classic of New Orleans Golf Betting Tips

The GM Tipster is having another good season, check out who he thinks will do well with these Zurich Classic of New Orleans Golf Betting Tips

April 24, 2018

Volvo China Open Golf Betting Tips

The European Tour is back in Asia this week, check out who the Golf Monthly Tipster has picked to do well with these Volvo China Open Golf Betting Tips

April 24, 2018

Volvo China Open Leaderboard, Preview, TV Times

The European Tour is in China this week for the Volvo China Open at Topwin Golf & CC in Beijing

April 24, 2018