Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 24 of 24

Thread: Rules query

  1. #21

    Re: Rules query

    Quote Originally Posted by HDID Kenny View Post
    It would appear to suggest a 'flighted ball' can embed itself by landing in abnormal soft conditions (reason for LR in the 1st place). However a ball 'driven' into the ground by a poor strike doesn't qualify even although this would not happen under normal ground conditions. Does seem harsh.

    Thanks for the explanation, I've been trying to look for the rule that Foxholer alluded to 25-2/6 but couldnt find any note on 6.

    Agree this does seem harsh and although this doesn't happen very often for me it's been difficult to find a ruling for this.

  2. #22
    Major Champion Foxholer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Wasting away again in Margaritaville
    Posts
    17,824

    Re: Rules query

    Quote Originally Posted by Rlburnside View Post
    Thanks for the explanation, I've been trying to look for the rule that Foxholer alluded to 25-2/6 but couldnt find any note on 6.
    ...
    It's not in the Rules section. It's a 'Decision', so is in that section

    Here's the text..

    25-2/6 Ball on Steep Bank Driven Straight into Ground
    Q.A player's ball lies on a steep bank in the fairway. He plays a stroke and drives the ball straight into the bank, i.e., the ball is never airborne. Is the player entitled to relief without penalty under Rule 25-2?

    A.No. Under Rule 25-2, relief is provided if a ball is embedded in its own pitch-mark. The word "pitch-mark" implies that the ball has become airborne.

    And here's a reference - to the USGA Rules/decisions, which I find easier to navigate. Though scrolling through Rule 25 (even the 'quick scroller' on the right) can be tedious!

    http://www.usga.org/rules/rules-and-...cision-25,25-2
    Last edited by Foxholer; 29-Aug-2017 at 10:20.
    Adams Speedline 9.5* Tech Rul 54 S
    Adams XTD TI 15* set to 13.5* Matrix Red Tie 70R
    Adams XTD TI 15* set to 16.5* Matrix Red Tie 70S
    Adams XTD TI 20* at 21* Matrix Red Tie S
    Adams XTD TI 23* at 24* Matrix Red Tie S
    Titleist 913 27* Diamana Kuro Kage S
    McGregor PCB Tour 6-PW S300
    Cleveland 588 Forged 52, 58
    Seemore Si1 33" or Bettinardi Baby Bee CS 33"

    Ia Ora Te Natura
    E Mea Arofa Teie Ao Nei

  3. #23

    Re: Rules query

    Quote Originally Posted by Foxholer View Post
    It's not in the Rules section. It's a 'Decision', so is in that section

    Here's the text..

    25-2/6 Ball on Steep Bank Driven Straight into Ground
    Q.A player's ball lies on a steep bank in the fairway. He plays a stroke and drives the ball straight into the bank, i.e., the ball is never airborne. Is the player entitled to relief without penalty under Rule 25-2?

    A.No. Under Rule 25-2, relief is provided if a ball is embedded in its own pitch-mark. The word "pitch-mark" implies that the ball has become airborne.

    And here's a reference - to the USGA Rules/decisions, which I find easier to navigate. Though scrolling through Rule 25 (even the 'quick scroller' on the right) can be tedious!

    http://www.usga.org/rules/rules-and-...cision-25,25-2

    Thanks very much for that Foxholer, rules can be somewhat hard to find/ decipher sometimes.

  4. #24
    Money List Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    8,248

    Re: Rules query

    Quote Originally Posted by Rlburnside View Post
    Thanks very much for that Foxholer, rules can be somewhat hard to find/ decipher sometimes.
    With regard to any harshness, the reason for the difference is that a ball embedded in it's own pitchmark does so as the result of the laws of physics associated with playing the game normally and the conditions at the time - hence relief when it happens on a part of the course you are expected to aim for.
    A ball directly buried as a result of an inappropriate and/or poor stroke is 'quiet another thing'.
    some metal woods,
    any old irons,
    Pick up balls....

    10.8 and moving the right way again...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Latest Golf News

Tour Championship Golf Betting Tips

The finale of the 2017 PGA Tour season happens at East Lake Golf Club check out who we think will do well with these Tour Championship Golf Betting Tips

September 19, 2017

Portugal Masters Golf Betting Tips

The European Tour is getting towards the end of the season, check out who the GM Tipster has picked to do well with these Portugal Masters Golf Betting Tips

September 19, 2017

Quiz Of The Week 15th September

How much have you been paying attention to the golfing world this week? Test your knowledge with our quiz...

September 19, 2017

FedEx Cup to be decided at Tour Championship

The 2017 FedEx Cup culminates this week at the Tour Championship at East Lake in Georgia. Jordan Spieth leads the rankings but any of the players in the top five on the standings will claim the Cup if they win at East Lake.

September 19, 2017

Padraig Harrington defends Portugal Masters

Padraig Harrington defends the Portugal Masters over the Dom Pedro Victoria Golf Course in Vilamoura and a strong field has assembled for the tournament.

September 19, 2017