Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Rules query

  1. #1
    Challenge Tour Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    512

    Rules query

    Could someone explain to me why this situation is a penalty.

    I hit a drive into the semi rough which was a bit wet, when I proceeded to take my second shot I didn't connect right and the ball buried a few inches from where I hit. I think I've only done this twice before and that was years ago and I'm sure I can remember from then it is a penalty so I played 4 for my next shot.

    I just can't understand why this is a penalty, what's the difference between this situation than having a drive plug off the fairway and being allowed a drop?

    No doubt there is a reasonable explanation so will be interested to hear from the experts.

    Btw this happened twice to me yesterday and it was a comp.

  2. #2
    Challenge Tour Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    512

    Re: Rules query

    Maybe one of the mods need to move this to the rules section

  3. #3
    Major Champion Foxholer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Wasting away again in Margaritaville
    Posts
    18,009

    Re: Rules query

    Doesn't seem to be a penalty to me! Unless when you 'didn't connect right' you hit it more than once.

    Or (more likely imo) you THEN decided to declare it unplayable and take a (penalty) drop within 2 club lengths not nearer the hole.

    Balls 'plugged in closely mown area' (ie fairway length) are covered under Rule 25-2 (Embedded Ball). It would need a Local Rule to apply for 'Plugged in the Rough' to be allowed without penalty.
    Adams Speedline 9.5* Tech Rul 54 S
    Adams XTD TI 15* set to 13.5* Matrix Red Tie 70R
    Adams XTD TI 15* set to 16.5* Matrix Red Tie 70S
    Adams XTD TI 20* at 21* Matrix Red Tie S
    Adams XTD TI 23* at 24* Matrix Red Tie S
    Titleist 913 27* Diamana Kuro Kage S
    McGregor PCB Tour 6-PW S300
    Cleveland 588 Forged 52, 58
    Seemore Si1 33" or Bettinardi Baby Bee CS 33"

    Ia Ora Te Natura
    E Mea Arofa Teie Ao Nei

  4. #4
    Challenge Tour Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    512

    Re: Rules query

    Quote Originally Posted by Foxholer View Post
    Doesn't seem to be a penalty to me! Unless when you 'didn't connect right' you hit it more than once.

    Or (more likely imo) you THEN decided to declare it unplayable and take a (penalty) drop within 2 club lengths not nearer the hole.

    Balls 'plugged in closely mown area' (ie fairway length) are covered under Rule 25-2 (Embedded Ball). It would need a Local Rule to apply for 'Plugged in the Rough' to be allowed without penalty.
    I didn't hit it more than once.

    I didn't declare it unplayable.

    We have a local rule for balls plugged in rough.

    I was told this was a penalty by more than one member of our club so never looked up the ruling myself.

    Maybe they were wrong.

  5. #5
    Ryder Cup Winner patricks148's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Highlands
    Posts
    13,332

    Re: Rules query

    Quote Originally Posted by Rlburnside View Post
    I didn't hit it more than once.

    I didn't declare it unplayable.

    We have a local rule for balls plugged in rough.

    I was told this was a penalty by more than one member of our club so never looked up the ruling myself.

    Maybe they were wrong.
    what was the penalty for then?

    never heard of one for a shot not hit right before??? harsh
    http://www.nairngolfclub.co.uk/

    The Nairn Golf Club, Club Champion (handicap) 2017

  6. #6
    Major Champion Foxholer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Wasting away again in Margaritaville
    Posts
    18,009

    Re: Rules query

    Quote Originally Posted by Rlburnside View Post
    I didn't hit it more than once.

    I didn't declare it unplayable.

    We have a local rule for balls plugged in rough.

    I was told this was a penalty by more than one member of our club so never looked up the ruling myself.

    Maybe they were wrong.
    Doh! I daftly 'missed' the 'semi' in your OP! So ignore my 'Doesn't seem...' etc in my reply! I believe i can see why the Penalty may have been required

    The ruling about whether you are entitled to free relief. or whether relief is under penalty, would depend on the wording of the LR, but if it's as per the example in the Appendix, then there's certainly cause to believe that it's under penalty! This is because free relief is only available when 'it is in its own pitch-mark'. Pitch-mark isn't defined, but a ball that is simply badly struck, so embeds, wouldn't seem to qualify for as Embedded (under the Note to the LR - as per Note 1 of 25-2).

    In fact, Decision 25-2/6 seems to be the equivalent of what may have happened (though probably on closely mown area).

    Sorry about misleading you earlier if that is what actually happened! Was it? As in 'Did the ball ever become airborne?'
    Last edited by Foxholer; 27-Aug-2017 at 14:27.
    Adams Speedline 9.5* Tech Rul 54 S
    Adams XTD TI 15* set to 13.5* Matrix Red Tie 70R
    Adams XTD TI 15* set to 16.5* Matrix Red Tie 70S
    Adams XTD TI 20* at 21* Matrix Red Tie S
    Adams XTD TI 23* at 24* Matrix Red Tie S
    Titleist 913 27* Diamana Kuro Kage S
    McGregor PCB Tour 6-PW S300
    Cleveland 588 Forged 52, 58
    Seemore Si1 33" or Bettinardi Baby Bee CS 33"

    Ia Ora Te Natura
    E Mea Arofa Teie Ao Nei

  7. #7
    Ryder Cup Winner
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Central Scotland
    Posts
    11,478

    Re: Rules query

    It would only be a penalty if you have to declare it unplayable but as your club have a local rule covering plugged balls in the rough then I don't see why you wouldn't get a free drop

  8. #8
    Challenge Tour Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    512

    Re: Rules query

    Quote Originally Posted by Foxholer View Post
    Doh! I daftly 'missed' the 'semi' in your OP! So ignore my 'Doesn't seem...' etc in my reply! I believe i can see why the Penalty may have been required

    The ruling about whether you are entitled to free relief. or whether relief is under penalty, would depend on the wording of the LR, but if it's as per the example in the Appendix, then there's certainly cause to believe that it's under penalty! This is because free relief is only available when 'it is in its own pitch-mark'. Pitch-mark isn't defined, but a ball that is simply badly struck, so embeds, wouldn't seem to qualify for as Embedded (under the Note to the LR - as per Note 1 of 25-2).

    In fact, Decision 25-2/6 seems to be the equivalent of what may have happened (though probably on closely mown area).

    Sorry about misleading you earlier if that is what actually happened! Was it? As in 'Did the ball ever become airborne?'
    No the ball was certainly never airborn, thanks for your explanation I think I understand the reason why it's a penalty now ie ball wasn't it its own pitch mark but badly struck and embedded which doesn't qualify as embedded!!!

    Glad I was right in calling a penalty on myself, although I think it's very harsh.

  9. #9
    Ryder Cup Winner Region3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Leicester
    Posts
    12,191

    Re: Rules query

    Did you play the ball from the "buried" position?

  10. #10
    Challenge Tour Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    512

    Re: Rules query

    Quote Originally Posted by Region3 View Post
    Did you play the ball from the "buried" position?
    Yes, dropped ball and added penalty playing my 4th shot

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Latest Golf News

Game Golf Live Shot Tracking System For Just 129.98 (Save 40)

Get the excellent on course shot tracking and off-course stats

November 21, 2017

Black Friday Groupon Golf Deals

Check out these superb Groupon golf deals, ranging from fourballs to lessons to simulator experiences

November 21, 2017

Hong Kong Open Golf Betting Tips

The European Tour starts the 2018 in Asia with a strong field in attendance, check out who we think will do well with these Hong Kong Open Golf Betting Tips

November 21, 2017

Rose and Fleetwood resume battle at Hong Kong Open

After the thrilling climax of the 2017 European Tour season last week in Dubai, the 2018 schedule begins right away on Thursday. Sam Brazel defends the UBS Hong Kong Open in Fanling and 2017 European Tour Number 1 and Number 2, Tommy Fleetwood and Justin Rose will start.

November 21, 2017

Bushnell Neo Ion Golf Watch for Lowest ever price of 99.48

Very impressive battery life is combined with useful features that help improve accuracy and implementing the correct strategy

November 20, 2017