Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

How is it possible?

I think I'm playing the wrong sport. I'm a solid 20 handicap just came off an epic golf tour in June, played 19 rounds in 12 days in Scotland including shooting 90 on the Old course and 92 at Carnoustie.

After a 3 week break/recovery I went out to one of my local courses yesterday and for the first 9 holes could not make contact with the club face. Topped everything from driver right down to wedges.

Surely after playing 2000+ shots last month some muscle memory must be retained?
    Fortunately on the back nine I started playing (really bad) golf but at least I was hitting the club face ...

I really feel like throwing in the towel.

MickyC

Tour Rookie

Re: How is it possible?

You get days like that.

Last Saturday I shot 76 gross. Today I shot 91 gross.

Holy wow

It takes me 6 months to do get 19 rounds in
    The Bats:
    Callaway Epic Sub Zero
    Titleist 915F 3 Wood
    Cobra KING 2 Iron
    Titleist AP2 716
    Titleist Vokey 50, 56, 60
    Taylormade Spider Tour Red

Handicap 2017:
    11.6 > 8.0

Assistant Pro

Feeling somewhat the same. Played on Saturday and had a great time playing some great golf (for my 20 handicap) played on Sunday and suddenly my driver had forgotten how to work and ended up killing me off the tee (so much so it's now sat in the naughty cupboard)

The joys of the game.

Yep, me too usually, this was the bucket list trip of a lifetime. Was really hard on the feet, especially the first 2 36 hole days where I really struggled. . After that the body got used to it. The golf game held up pretty well for the most part too. Probably played 3 bad rounds in those 19, 2 great rounds and the rest were pretty average scoring for me 94-97.

Doesn't explain how I couldn't make contact with the club face yesterday....

It happens to pros. One day a 66, the next a 76!

We don't get more consistent, all that happens is the gap between our good and bad round gets smaller! . (as someone said once)