Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Head Pro
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Woking, Surrey
    Posts
    263

    Matchplay Penalties

    Played a match yesterday where a couple of rules queries popped up.

    Firstly our opponents tried claiming on the 2nd tee that they had won the 1st hole because my partner had broke a branch on his backswing on the previous hole. A couple of issues here, my partner was pretty adamant that he had not broken any branches, so it was kind of 1 persons word against another situation, so not sure how to proceed here. Secondly are you able to call the penalty standing on the next tee? I mean the hole could potentially of played out very differently had either myself or my partner been aware that they had breached said rule.

    Later on in the match one of our opponents was out of the hole and the other in a greenside bunker. The one in the greenside bunker hit it in a bush and didn't find his ball. He then claimed he couldn't drop back in the bunker as he had already raked it, now I was pretty sure that this wasn't the case but his head was gone by this point so there was no reasoning with him.

  2. #2
    Money List Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    8,557

    Re: Matchplay Penalties

    Firstly, read rule 2-5 regarding claims and disputed claims.

    Secondly he can either drop in the bunker or concede the hole...

  3. #3
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    4,091

    Re: Matchplay Penalties

    Re the 2nd point, this decision covers it.

    Ball Played from Bunker Is Out of Bounds or Lost; Player Tests Condition of Bunker or Smooths Footprints Before Dropping Another Ball in Bunker

    http://www.usga.org/rules/rules-and-...on-13,d13-4-37

  4. #4
    Head Pro
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Woking, Surrey
    Posts
    263

    Re: Matchplay Penalties

    Thanks I was fairly sure I was right about the bunker but he wasn't interested.

    I've read that rule 2-5 and to be honest I'm none the wiser.

  5. #5
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    4,091

    Re: Matchplay Penalties

    Quote Originally Posted by sam85 View Post
    Thanks I was fairly sure I was right about the bunker but he wasn't interested.

    I've read that rule 2-5 and to be honest I'm none the wiser.
    The relevant bit of 2-5 is that a claim must be made before any player has played from the next tee. No ruling is made at this point but the matter must be reported to the committee at the completion of the round. They will then make a ruling

  6. #6
    Head Pro
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Woking, Surrey
    Posts
    263

    Re: Matchplay Penalties

    Quote Originally Posted by rulefan View Post
    The relevant bit of 2-5 is that a claim must be made before any player has played from the next tee. No ruling is made at this point but the matter must be reported to the committee at the completion of the round. They will then make a ruling

    A claim relating to a prior hole in the match may only be considered by the Committee if it is based on facts previously unknown to the player making the claim and he had been given wrong information (Rules 6-2a or 9) by an opponent.

    It was this part that confused me, it seems pretty clear that the player making the claim was aware of all the facts.

    As an aside this was a match played at an away course organised by a company online so there was no committee as such readily available.

  7. #7
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    4,091

    Re: Matchplay Penalties

    Quote Originally Posted by sam85 View Post
    A claim relating to a prior hole in the match may only be considered by the Committee if it is based on facts previously unknown to the player making the claim and he had been given wrong information (Rules 6-2a or 9) by an opponent.

    It was this part that confused me, it seems pretty clear that the player making the claim was aware of all the facts.

    As an aside this was a match played at an away course organised by a company online so there was no committee as such readily available.
    The reference to 'a prior hole' is a hole that has been completed. Until the next hole has started (in this case the 2nd) the 1st is not a prior hole (it is the current hole)

  8. #8
    Head Pro
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Woking, Surrey
    Posts
    263

    Re: Matchplay Penalties

    Quote Originally Posted by rulefan View Post
    The reference to 'a prior hole' is a hole that has been completed. Until the next hole has started (in this case the 2nd) the 1st is not a prior hole (it is the current hole)
    So in essence if you see an opponent break a rule you are under no obligation to inform thim of this rule breach immediately as long as you inform them you are going to make a claim before the next hole begins? This doesn't seem like it can be right to me as this potential penalty would completely change how a pair may play a hole.

  9. #9
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    sarf Lunnon
    Posts
    3,155

    Re: Matchplay Penalties

    Quote Originally Posted by sam85 View Post
    So in essence if you see an opponent break a rule you are under no obligation to inform thim of this rule breach immediately as long as you inform them you are going to make a claim before the next hole begins? This doesn't seem like it can be right to me as this potential penalty would completely change how a pair may play a hole.
    Not sure l follow the argument?

    If you see an opponent break a rule, then why would you wait to call it? As imposing a penalty will put your opponent at a disadvantage in playing out the hole (if not actually causing the loss of the hole).

    The point of 2/5 is about when the two parties either don't agree a rule is broken, or don't know if a rule is broken - and 2/5 limits the amount of time for which the "dispute" can go on. You have to advise your opponent of your "claim" before the next hole starts - or that's it, you have to let it lie.
    Handicap Challenge - 19.3 (23 Dec)
    The uglier a man’s legs are, the better he plays golf. HG Wells. I got nice legs...

  10. #10
    Journeyman Pro anotherdouble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2,178

    Re: Matchplay Penalties

    As an aside had a rule been broken in the op. As it's stated that a branch was broken in the backswing. Well if the stroke was completed (not mentioned) then there is no penalty or so I thought. If this was the case, were the opponents pulling a fast one

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Latest Golf News

LAAC day 3 report: Alvaro Ortiz leads by one

Alvaro Ortiz of Mexico leads the Latin America Amateur Championship in Santiago, Chile by one shot from a group of four players including the defending champion Toto Gana and the World’s Number 1 amateur Joaquin Niemann, both from Chile.

January 22, 2018

Titleist Vokey SM7 Wedge Review

The new Titleist Vokey SM7 wedge represents the latest addition to the successful Vokey range. Does the performance match the premium price-tag? Our test team put the new Titleist Vokey SM7 wedge through its' paces

January 22, 2018

Jon Rahm wins CareerBuilder Challenge after playoff

Jon Rahm wins the CareerBuilder Challenge after a playoff with American Andrew Landry

January 22, 2018

LAAC day two: Jaime Lopez Rivarola leads by one

Jaime Lopez Rivarola of Argentina leads the fourth Latin America Amateur championship at the halfway stage after a second round 68 at the Prince of Wales CC in Santiago, Chile.

January 21, 2018

Tommy Fleetwood wins Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship

Tommy Fleetwood wins the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship, successfully defending the title he won 12 months ago

January 21, 2018