Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 57
  1. #1
    Money List Winner
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Worcester Park
    Posts
    5,750

    Declaring a ball lost…… SPOILER ALERT re Scottish Open

    Ryan Fox pulls one left on a par three, potentially lost.

    Plays a provisional & holes it.

    Cue Rich Beem & Ewen Murray discussing how he should declare the first one lost, in fact Ewen Murray has stated that "Fox declared the first one lost"…………

    How much are these half wits paid?

    http://www.golf-monthly.co.uk/videos...your-ball-lost

  2. #2
    Major Champion chrisd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    18,567

    Re: Declaring a ball lost…… SPOILER ALERT re Scottish Open

    Sort of confirms the 'if you want to check a rule don't ask a pro's maxim
    removed list of clubs as they change too frequently !

    Handicap 12.0

  3. #3
    Tour Winner Tommo21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    East Lothian Scotland
    Posts
    4,635

    Re: Declaring a ball lost…… SPOILER ALERT re Scottish Open

    If he declared it lost on the tee then fine, it wasn't a provisional then...?
    Practice, you only get out what you put in, but I'm having second thoughts. In my bag this week Callaway driver, 3 and 5 wood. Titleist 909 21 degree utility, Titleist 909 19 degree utility with TM Vsteel 5 wood shaft, Taylormade P790 irons DG 105 shafts, Vokey 200 series wedges 50 and 58. Odyssey works cruiser putter, Prov1x, HC 5.
    www.royalmusselburgh.co.uk
    www.dunbar-golfclub.co.uk

  4. #4
    Money List Winner williamalex1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    uddingston
    Posts
    7,517

    Re: Declaring a ball lost…… SPOILER ALERT re Scottish Open

    Quote Originally Posted by Tommo21 View Post
    If he declared it lost on the tee then fine, it wasn't a provisional then...?
    Just seen his interview, he said it was a provisional and hoped no one would find his first ball in the gorse bush.
    Last edited by williamalex1; 16-Jul-2017 at 16:09.
    handicap 15.5 sadly now 16.5

  5. #5
    Tour Rookie Jon321's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Wyton, cambridgeshire
    Posts
    1,208

    Re: Declaring a ball lost…… SPOILER ALERT re Scottish Open

    Am I correct in thinking because the provisional was holed, That is the hole finished and if someone did find the 1st it wouldn't have mattered.
    TM M2 10.5
    TM SLDR 14 degree mini
    Mizuno MP H5 2 iron
    Ping G25 23 degree hybrid
    Mizuno MP5's 5-PW
    Vokey SM6 48, 54, 60
    TM Maranello Tour Black

    Handicap
    2014- 12>9.3
    2015- 9.3>6.2
    2016- 6.2>5.7
    2017- 5.7>5.2

  6. #6
    Money List Winner williamalex1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    uddingston
    Posts
    7,517

    Re: Declaring a ball lost…… SPOILER ALERT re Scottish Open

    Quote Originally Posted by Jon321 View Post
    Am I correct in thinking because the provisional was holed, That is the hole finished and if someone did find the 1st it wouldn't have mattered.
    No , if his first ball was found and identified within the 5 minutes, it would be the ball in play and he would have to play it.
    handicap 15.5 sadly now 16.5

  7. #7
    Tour Rookie Hosel Fade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Surrey/Berks
    Posts
    1,335

    Re: Declaring a ball lost…… SPOILER ALERT re Scottish Open

    Quote Originally Posted by Jon321 View Post
    Am I correct in thinking because the provisional was holed, That is the hole finished and if someone did find the 1st it wouldn't have mattered.
    Not quite, a fellow competitor/opponent could leg it into the gorse and find it, they would have to leg it though because the provisional becomes in play when it is picked out of the hole.
    9.5* Ping i20 Stock Stiff
    15* Taylormade R15 Fujikura FUEL 60 S
    18* Adams Pro DHY Aldila Tour Blue 85 S
    4-PW John Letters Master Model S300
    52*,56*,60* John Letters Tour Black DG Spinner
    34" Odyssey Metal X Milled #1
    2016 Handicap par 73 SSS71 - 10.0 -> 10.1 (NR,95 adj) -> 10.2 (net 79)
    http://www.driftgolfclub.com/golf/

  8. #8
    Tour Winner Maninblack4612's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    South Shields
    Posts
    3,164

    Re: Declaring a ball lost…… SPOILER ALERT re Scottish Open

    Quote Originally Posted by Hosel Fade View Post
    Not quite, a fellow competitor/opponent could leg it into the gorse and find it, they would have to leg it though because the provisional becomes in play when it is picked out of the hole.
    The provisional becomes the ball in play when it is played from beyond he point where the lost ball was lost.
    Taylormade M1 9½°, Matrix Black Tie 6M3 Regular
    Taylormade SLDR 3 wood
    Taylormade SLDR 5 wood
    TaylormadeSLDR Rescue 22°
    Mizuno JPX850 forged irons 4 - PW
    Titelist Vokey 50 & 58 wedges
    Cure RX4 putter (heavyweight magic wand)
    Vice Pro Plus ball
    H/C 9 @ ssgc.co.uk

  9. #9
    Tour Winner Tommo21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    East Lothian Scotland
    Posts
    4,635

    Re: Declaring a ball lost…… SPOILER ALERT re Scottish Open

    Quote Originally Posted by williamalex1 View Post
    Just seen his interview, he said it was a provisional and hoped no one would find his first ball in the gorse bush.

    If that's the case it was fine. If someone found it, that was his ball in play.
    Practice, you only get out what you put in, but I'm having second thoughts. In my bag this week Callaway driver, 3 and 5 wood. Titleist 909 21 degree utility, Titleist 909 19 degree utility with TM Vsteel 5 wood shaft, Taylormade P790 irons DG 105 shafts, Vokey 200 series wedges 50 and 58. Odyssey works cruiser putter, Prov1x, HC 5.
    www.royalmusselburgh.co.uk
    www.dunbar-golfclub.co.uk

  10. #10
    Money List Winner paddyk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    6,871

    Re: Declaring a ball lost…… SPOILER ALERT re Scottish Open

    Quote Originally Posted by Tommo21 View Post
    If that's the case it was fine. If someone found it, that was his ball in play.
    I'd have briskly walked to the green and picked up my ball making it the ball in play.
    although I'd be disappointed and surprised if any looked for the original

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Latest Golf News

LAAC day 3 report: Alvaro Ortiz leads by one

Alvaro Ortiz of Mexico leads the Latin America Amateur Championship in Santiago, Chile by one shot from a group of four players including the defending champion Toto Gana and the World’s Number 1 amateur Joaquin Niemann, both from Chile.

January 22, 2018

Titleist Vokey SM7 Wedge Review

The new Titleist Vokey SM7 wedge represents the latest addition to the successful Vokey range. Does the performance match the premium price-tag? Our test team put the new Titleist Vokey SM7 wedge through its' paces

January 22, 2018

Jon Rahm wins CareerBuilder Challenge after playoff

Jon Rahm wins the CareerBuilder Challenge after a playoff with American Andrew Landry

January 22, 2018

LAAC day two: Jaime Lopez Rivarola leads by one

Jaime Lopez Rivarola of Argentina leads the fourth Latin America Amateur championship at the halfway stage after a second round 68 at the Prince of Wales CC in Santiago, Chile.

January 21, 2018

Tommy Fleetwood wins Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship

Tommy Fleetwood wins the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship, successfully defending the title he won 12 months ago

January 21, 2018