Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33
  1. #1
    Money List Winner AmandaJR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Cambs
    Posts
    5,584

    Playing in two comps - one card submitted for both...

    Two strokeplay events on the same day, same tees, and a player pays an entry fee for both, and submits one card for both comps.

    Allowable?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Global Moderator DCB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Midlothian
    Posts
    7,195

    Re: Playing in two comps - one card submitted for both...

    Interesting situation, curious as to how they are detailed on the fixture card. Not something I've seen before but my feeling would be, if they are completely separate events, it wouldn't allowed. Not based on any info from Manual, just my gut feeling

  3. #3
    Money List Winner AmandaJR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Cambs
    Posts
    5,584

    Re: Playing in two comps - one card submitted for both...

    Quote Originally Posted by DCB View Post
    Interesting situation, curious as to how they are detailed on the fixture card. Not something I've seen before but my feeling would be, if they are completely separate events, it wouldn't allowed. Not based on any info from Manual, just my gut feeling
    Interesting you say that as my reaction was exactly the same. I have been informed though that it's allowed unless Conditions of Comp state otherwise. Just want to check with the gurus on here though!

  4. #4

    Re: Playing in two comps - one card submitted for both...

    Quote Originally Posted by AmandaJR View Post
    Interesting you say that as my reaction was exactly the same. I have been informed though that it's allowed unless Conditions of Comp state otherwise. Just want to check with the gurus on here though!
    I would be shocked if that was allowed, just can't be right, I'm no rules expert so will be interested what the experts say.

  5. #5
    Ryder Cup Winner fundy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Milton Keynes, Bucks
    Posts
    12,592

    Re: Playing in two comps - one card submitted for both...

    why wouldnt it be allowed? no rules issues as same format, if its not then theres plenty of events where you have an on the day card and say an eclectic comp where in effect one card is counting for 2 comps
    In the bag:
    TM M1 9.5 degree
    TM M1 17 degree hybrid
    Orka RS1/RS3 Irons 3-PW
    Orka RS10 Wedges 52,56,60
    Ping Ketsch

    Handicap: 7

  6. #6
    Major Champion chrisd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    17,500

    Re: Playing in two comps - one card submitted for both...

    I played last week in a comp where it was in categories, and an over 50's and I could have played in the scratch too - all on the same card
    removed list of clubs as they change too frequently !

    Handicap 12.0

  7. #7
    Money List Winner rosecott's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Notts
    Posts
    5,396

    Re: Playing in two comps - one card submitted for both...

    Quote Originally Posted by chrisd View Post
    I played last week in a comp where it was in categories, and an over 50's and I could have played in the scratch too - all on the same card
    I can't believe you're over 50.

  8. #8
    Ryder Cup Winner fundy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Milton Keynes, Bucks
    Posts
    12,592

    Re: Playing in two comps - one card submitted for both...

    Quote Originally Posted by rosecott View Post
    I can't believe you're over 50.
    youre the only one
    In the bag:
    TM M1 9.5 degree
    TM M1 17 degree hybrid
    Orka RS1/RS3 Irons 3-PW
    Orka RS10 Wedges 52,56,60
    Ping Ketsch

    Handicap: 7

  9. #9
    Hall of Famer Liverpoolphil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    36,031

    Re: Playing in two comps - one card submitted for both...

    All depends on what the comps are

    Can be a medal card that also goes towards a Order or merit or Eclectic etc

    But for example if there was a seniors medal on the same day as a club Stableford the card can't go towards both comps.

  10. #10
    Ryder Cup Winner fundy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Milton Keynes, Bucks
    Posts
    12,592

    Re: Playing in two comps - one card submitted for both...

    Quote Originally Posted by Liverpoolphil View Post
    All depends on what the comps are

    Can be a medal card that also goes towards a Order or merit or Eclectic etc

    But for example if there was a seniors medal on the same day as a club Stableford the card can't go towards both comps.
    why not? can you pop a link up to the rule plse
    In the bag:
    TM M1 9.5 degree
    TM M1 17 degree hybrid
    Orka RS1/RS3 Irons 3-PW
    Orka RS10 Wedges 52,56,60
    Ping Ketsch

    Handicap: 7

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Latest Golf News

RBC Canadian Open Golf Betting Tips

The PGA Tour are in Canada this week just before the USPGA Championship, check out who we think are going to do well with our RBC Canadian Open Golf Betting Tips

July 26, 2017

Porsche European Open Golf Betting Tips

The European Tour’s first event since a dramatic Open Championship is the Porsche European Open Golf Betting Tips

July 26, 2017

Matt Kuchar looks to push on at Canadian Open

The PGA Tour travels west across the Atlantic to Ontario this week for the RBC Canadian Open. Venezuela’s Jhonattan Vegas defends the title at Glen Abbey GC and Matt Kuchar will look to bounce back strongly after narrowly missing out in The Open Championship at Birkdale.

July 25, 2017

Alexander Levy defends Porsche European Open

After the Open Championship at Royal Birkdale last week, the European Tour travels to Germany for the Porsche European Open. Alexander Levy will be the defending champion at the Green Eagle golf course in Hamburg.

July 25, 2017

The Open 2017: Should the driving range have been out of bounds?

It has had golf fans everywhere talking... Should the driving range have been out of bounds? We look at the crucial rules-related moment in the final round of the Open 2017

July 24, 2017