Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1

    Match play: playing out of turn

    So this happened in a match yesterday. Player A is on the green, player B is off the green but closer to the pin. Player B plays and puts ball 1 meter from flag. Player A says " I could make you play that again, I should have played first" , player B says " that's ok I can play it again if you like" ( marks ball). Player A plays, steams past the flag by about 4 meters, walk up and then says, " actually, I do want you to play it again.
    Player B leaves marker on green , goes back to approximate location and plays the shot against and gets it inside his first shot ( ha ha ),

    my question is, can player A request Player B to replay the shot AFTER having played themselves ( and not immediately after player B played out of turn )?

  2. #2
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    4,263

    Re: Match play: playing out of turn

    NO. The rule says immediately ie before any other action has been taken.

    10-1b
    Last edited by rulefan; 16-Jul-2017 at 12:20.

  3. #3

    Re: Match play: playing out of turn

    Quote Originally Posted by rulefan View Post
    NO. The rule says immediately ie before any other action has been taken.

    10-1b
    so does the fact that player A requested the shot to be replayed, and player B replayed it, mean that the hole should have been forfeited by either player ( as the rule was incorrectly applied )?

  4. #4
    Money List Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    8,731

    Re: Match play: playing out of turn

    No.

    Player A clearly didn't know the rule and player B took an action based on player A's understanding.

    They haven't agreed to waive a rule, and what they decide is correct becomes correct in such a situation.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Latest Golf News

Sergio Garcia Swing Analysis

Here we take an in-depth look at the swing of 2017 Masters Champion Sergio Garcia

February 23, 2018

Tiger Woods To Hit “Four Or Five” Drivers A Day At Honda Classic

The 14-time major winner will surely hit more fairways this week at PGA National, revealing he's only going to hit "four or five" drivers per round

February 22, 2018

Smarter Ways to Lower Scores 2018 powered by Cobra Puma Golf

2 golfers will get the chance to lower their scores the ‘smarter way’ this year via our bigger and better 'Smarter Ways to Lower Scores 2018' project powered by Cobra Puma Golf

February 21, 2018

4 Ways to Improve Your Short Game Strikes

In this video, GM Top 25 coach John Jacobs shows 4 fail-safe chipping methods to help you stop wasting shots around the greens

February 21, 2018

Jim Furyk Names Woods And Stricker As Ryder Cup Vice Captains

Woods and Stricker will join Davis Love III as Jim Furyk's vice captains at Le Golf National

February 21, 2018