Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1

    Match play: playing out of turn

    So this happened in a match yesterday. Player A is on the green, player B is off the green but closer to the pin. Player B plays and puts ball 1 meter from flag. Player A says " I could make you play that again, I should have played first" , player B says " that's ok I can play it again if you like" ( marks ball). Player A plays, steams past the flag by about 4 meters, walk up and then says, " actually, I do want you to play it again.
    Player B leaves marker on green , goes back to approximate location and plays the shot against and gets it inside his first shot ( ha ha ),

    my question is, can player A request Player B to replay the shot AFTER having played themselves ( and not immediately after player B played out of turn )?

  2. #2
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    4,599

    Re: Match play: playing out of turn

    NO. The rule says immediately ie before any other action has been taken.

    10-1b
    Last edited by rulefan; 16-Jul-2017 at 12:20.

  3. #3

    Re: Match play: playing out of turn

    Quote Originally Posted by rulefan View Post
    NO. The rule says immediately ie before any other action has been taken.

    10-1b
    so does the fact that player A requested the shot to be replayed, and player B replayed it, mean that the hole should have been forfeited by either player ( as the rule was incorrectly applied )?

  4. #4
    Money List Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    9,086

    Re: Match play: playing out of turn

    No.

    Player A clearly didn't know the rule and player B took an action based on player A's understanding.

    They haven't agreed to waive a rule, and what they decide is correct becomes correct in such a situation.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Latest Golf News

Dad Makes Birdie After Son Finds Ball Down Animal Hole

A competitor in the PGA Professionals Championship at the weekend made an incredible birdie after his son retrieved it from down an animal hole

June 19, 2018

Travelers Championship Golf Betting Tips

TPC River Highlands hosts the event on the PGA Tour this week, check out who we think will do well with these Travelers Championship Golf Betting Tips

June 19, 2018

BMW International Open Golf Betting Tips

The European Tour are in Germany this week, check out who we think will do well with these BMW International Open Golf Betting Tips

June 19, 2018

‘Why Do Golfers Only Wear One Glove?’ You Asked Google And We’ve Got The Answer…

You asked Google why golfers only wear one glove. Here is the answer...

June 19, 2018

Is Brooks Koepka Here To Stay?

The double US Open champion is up to fourth in the world, is he here to stay?

June 19, 2018