Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

New Irons for Fast Swing

First post so please be gentle.

I started playing 2 months ago having played briefly when I was 14 (I'm no 30). Had a couple of lessons on feeling good; slice is disappearing and getting plenty of loft on my irons.

Problem is I have a very fast swing. Not measured it but as an example i hit my 8iron about 180yards carry (no that's not a typo). I've recently bought a 2nd hand adams xtd which is great for me and hitting it well, but my irons are inherited callaway big Bertha x-12 with regular flex graphite shafts. So in the last few days 2 heads have snapped off the shafts (9i and 4i off the tee). I know I need steel shafts but what flex? S or xs.

I don't want to spend more than 400 but also don't need 3i or 2i as I have a 22deg hybrid that does a good job.

Any thoughts? Make, Model, where to buy

Head Pro

Re: New Irons for Fast Swing

Get a basic fitting at American golf, it's free. Or go to a reputable fitter in your area

welcome to the madhouse

180 yards carry with an 8 iron after 2 months, you must be one helluva natural

Did you ask your pro for recommendations?

If those carry distances are consistent then its hard to think you want anything but X flex, but theres more to it than just flex. Weight is as if not more important and if you are swinging it super fast you may want something heavier too.

Are you tall? are you likely to need longer/more upright irons?

Ideally if you can try and get a fitting with no commitment to buy, that would give you a decent guide. If looking to buy off the shelf blind then I would try and find something with a heavyish x flex shaft in (but im guessing based on 2 numbers)
    In the bag:
    TM M1 9.5 degree
    TM M1 17 degree hybrid
    Orka RS1/RS3 Irons 3-PW
    Orka RS10 Wedges 52,56,60
    Ping Ketsch

Handicap: 7

stopped reading this when you said you hit an 8 iron 180 yards........