Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Head Pro LincolnShep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Lincoln, UK
    Posts
    305

    Ball in rabbit hole in hazard

    Saw something today that is s new one on me. My FC's ball ended up in a rabbit hole, the entrance of which was inside a bunker. However, the ball had rolled down the hole and was no longer within the confines of the hazard (assuming the edge is vertical up and down). In other words a vertical line up from the ball would have come out on the fairway rather than hazard).

    So, he gets relief from the burrow but does he drop inside or outside the bunker?

    Shep
    • Welton Manor Golf Club
    • 2018: 20.6 ---> ?
    • 2017: 20.1 ---> 21.0 ---> 20.6
    • 2016: 21.5 ---> 22.0 ---> 19.5 ---> 20.1
    • 2015: 21.0 ---> 21.5

  2. #2
    Major Champion Foxholer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Wasting away again in Margaritaville
    Posts
    18,333

    Re: Ball in rabbit hole in hazard

    I'd say outside! Provided it was further in than a vertical line from the edge/border/face of the bunker - not just of the area in the neighbourhood of the entrance of the 'burrow'.

    See definition of 'Bunker' here. http://www.usga.org/rules/rules-and-...ml#!rule-14253
    Last edited by Foxholer; 29-Jun-2017 at 19:01.
    Adams Speedline 9.5* Tech Rul 54 S
    Adams XTD TI 15* set to 13.5* Matrix Red Tie 70R
    Adams XTD TI 15* set to 16.5* Matrix Red Tie 70S
    Adams XTD TI 20* at 21* Matrix Red Tie S
    Adams XTD TI 23* at 24* Matrix Red Tie S
    Titleist 913 27* Diamana Kuro Kage S
    MacGregor PCB Tour 6-PW S300
    Cleveland 588 Forged 52, 58
    Seemore Si1 33" or Bettinardi Baby Bee CS 33"

    Ia Ora Te Natura
    E Mea Arofa Teie Ao Nei

  3. #3
    Journeyman Pro spongebob59's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    1,700

    Re: Ball in rabbit hole in hazard

    Local rule at Dartford was you took relief outside of the bunker.

  4. #4
    Head Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    292

    Re: Ball in rabbit hole in hazard

    It depends whether the ball is found or not. If the ball is lost in the abnormal ground condition, it is deemed to lie at the entrance which is in the bunker and therefore the ball must be dropped inside the bunker. Rule 25-1c

    If you know where it lies in the hole then you can drop it within a club length of the point vertically above the ball.

  5. #5
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    4,599

    Re: Ball in rabbit hole in hazard

    Ball Enters Burrowing Animal Hole in Bunker and Is Found Underneath Putting Green

    http://www.usga.org/rules/rules-and-...n-25,d25-1b-25

  6. #6
    Head Pro LincolnShep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Lincoln, UK
    Posts
    305

    Re: Ball in rabbit hole in hazard

    Thanks all. It seems there is nothing 'new' in golf. If it can happen, it has happened.
    • Welton Manor Golf Club
    • 2018: 20.6 ---> ?
    • 2017: 20.1 ---> 21.0 ---> 20.6
    • 2016: 21.5 ---> 22.0 ---> 19.5 ---> 20.1
    • 2015: 21.0 ---> 21.5

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Latest Golf News

Dad Makes Birdie After Son Finds Ball Down Animal Hole

A competitor in the PGA Professionals Championship at the weekend made an incredible birdie after his son retrieved it from down an animal hole

June 19, 2018

Travelers Championship Golf Betting Tips

TPC River Highlands hosts the event on the PGA Tour this week, check out who we think will do well with these Travelers Championship Golf Betting Tips

June 19, 2018

BMW International Open Golf Betting Tips

The European Tour are in Germany this week, check out who we think will do well with these BMW International Open Golf Betting Tips

June 19, 2018

‘Why Do Golfers Only Wear One Glove?’ You Asked Google And We’ve Got The Answer…

You asked Google why golfers only wear one glove. Here is the answer...

June 19, 2018

Is Brooks Koepka Here To Stay?

The double US Open champion is up to fourth in the world, is he here to stay?

June 19, 2018