Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 15 of 15
  1. #11
    Assistant Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    246

    Re: DQ or not - part 3

    Quote Originally Posted by sawtooth View Post
    This actually happened with 2 players in our recent competition and I ended up DQing both because they both would have gained a point with a 7 for 1. Infact they were proper blobs but that's not what they had signed for.

    I think that was the right call.
    It depends why the score was wrong. If it's a counting failure then you're correct, but if it's a result of failing to include a penalty the player didn't know they had incurred, then you should apply the relevant penalty and also deduct a further two points from the total score in stableford. So in your example, their score would be reduced by three points.

  2. #12
    Ryder Cup Winner fundy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Milton Keynes, Bucks
    Posts
    13,191

    Re: DQ or not - part 3

    sounds like your membership could do with some education, youll have dq'ed half of them before long!!!!
    In the bag:
    TM M1 9.5 degree
    TM M1 17 degree hybrid
    Orka RS1/RS3 Irons 3-PW
    Orka RS10 Wedges 52,56,60
    Ping Ketsch

    Handicap: 7

  3. #13
    Money List Winner sawtooth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Berkshire
    Posts
    6,973

    Re: DQ or not - part 3

    Quote Originally Posted by fundy View Post
    sounds like your membership could do with some education, youll have dq'ed half of them before long!!!!
    Hopefully they get the bloody message soon!!!

    To be honest I think it might have been very lax in the past so is taking some by surprise. I don't mean to be a jobs worth trust me.
    "No matter what happens one day, I will always love this club forever and be an eternal fan. I dedicate my life to make you happy"

    Arsene Wenger 2017

  4. #14
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    3,913

    Re: DQ or not - part 3

    Quote Originally Posted by sawtooth View Post
    Hopefully they get the bloody message soon!!!

    To be honest I think it might have been very lax in the past so is taking some by surprise. I don't mean to be a jobs worth trust me.
    To protect the other members, someone has to be.

  5. #15
    Ryder Cup Winner fundy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Milton Keynes, Bucks
    Posts
    13,191

    Re: DQ or not - part 3

    Quote Originally Posted by sawtooth View Post
    Hopefully they get the bloody message soon!!!

    To be honest I think it might have been very lax in the past so is taking some by surprise. I don't mean to be a jobs worth trust me.
    tough balance to find for sure but they have to take on some of the responsibility too or they leave you with little choice!
    In the bag:
    TM M1 9.5 degree
    TM M1 17 degree hybrid
    Orka RS1/RS3 Irons 3-PW
    Orka RS10 Wedges 52,56,60
    Ping Ketsch

    Handicap: 7

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Latest Golf News

10 New Year’s Resolutions For Every Golfer

A new year calls for new resolutions. It’s time to wipe the worries of 2017 away and start over with a fresh new slate. Dust off your clubs, stock up on tees and forget about all those three putts. Enjoy your golf game even more this season by taking up these New Year’s resolutions. By Sam Tremlett

December 12, 2017

Golf To Scrap Viewer Call-Ins On Rules Infringements

Golf's governing bodies have responded to the Lexi Thompson debacle in April

December 11, 2017

Shubhankar Sharma wins Joburg Open

Shubhankar Sharma of India held his nerve to win the weather-delayed Joburg Open at the Randpark Golf Club by three shots from South Africa’s Erik Van Rooyen.

December 11, 2017

Stricker and O’Hair win QBE Shootout

Steve Stricker and Sean O’Hair battled through cold and windy conditions to win the QBE Shootout at Tiburon GC in Florida by two shots from Irish pairing of Shane Lowry and Graeme McDowell.

December 11, 2017

Rory McIlroy To Keep Harry Diamond As Caddie In 2018

The four-time major winner will keep best mate Harry Diamond on the bag in 2018

December 8, 2017