Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 15 of 15
  1. #11
    Assistant Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    233

    Re: DQ or not - part 3

    Quote Originally Posted by sawtooth View Post
    This actually happened with 2 players in our recent competition and I ended up DQing both because they both would have gained a point with a 7 for 1. Infact they were proper blobs but that's not what they had signed for.

    I think that was the right call.
    It depends why the score was wrong. If it's a counting failure then you're correct, but if it's a result of failing to include a penalty the player didn't know they had incurred, then you should apply the relevant penalty and also deduct a further two points from the total score in stableford. So in your example, their score would be reduced by three points.

  2. #12
    Ryder Cup Winner fundy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Milton Keynes, Bucks
    Posts
    12,605

    Re: DQ or not - part 3

    sounds like your membership could do with some education, youll have dq'ed half of them before long!!!!
    In the bag:
    TM M1 9.5 degree
    TM M1 17 degree hybrid
    Orka RS1/RS3 Irons 3-PW
    Orka RS10 Wedges 52,56,60
    Ping Ketsch

    Handicap: 7

  3. #13
    Money List Winner sawtooth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Berkshire
    Posts
    6,569

    Re: DQ or not - part 3

    Quote Originally Posted by fundy View Post
    sounds like your membership could do with some education, youll have dq'ed half of them before long!!!!
    Hopefully they get the bloody message soon!!!

    To be honest I think it might have been very lax in the past so is taking some by surprise. I don't mean to be a jobs worth trust me.
    H'cap 8.9

  4. #14
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    3,457

    Re: DQ or not - part 3

    Quote Originally Posted by sawtooth View Post
    Hopefully they get the bloody message soon!!!

    To be honest I think it might have been very lax in the past so is taking some by surprise. I don't mean to be a jobs worth trust me.
    To protect the other members, someone has to be.

  5. #15
    Ryder Cup Winner fundy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Milton Keynes, Bucks
    Posts
    12,605

    Re: DQ or not - part 3

    Quote Originally Posted by sawtooth View Post
    Hopefully they get the bloody message soon!!!

    To be honest I think it might have been very lax in the past so is taking some by surprise. I don't mean to be a jobs worth trust me.
    tough balance to find for sure but they have to take on some of the responsibility too or they leave you with little choice!
    In the bag:
    TM M1 9.5 degree
    TM M1 17 degree hybrid
    Orka RS1/RS3 Irons 3-PW
    Orka RS10 Wedges 52,56,60
    Ping Ketsch

    Handicap: 7

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Latest Golf News

RBC Canadian Open Golf Betting Tips

The PGA Tour are in Canada this week just before the USPGA Championship, check out who we think are going to do well with our RBC Canadian Open Golf Betting Tips

July 26, 2017

Porsche European Open Golf Betting Tips

The European Tour’s first event since a dramatic Open Championship is the Porsche European Open Golf Betting Tips

July 26, 2017

Matt Kuchar looks to push on at Canadian Open

The PGA Tour travels west across the Atlantic to Ontario this week for the RBC Canadian Open. Venezuela’s Jhonattan Vegas defends the title at Glen Abbey GC and Matt Kuchar will look to bounce back strongly after narrowly missing out in The Open Championship at Birkdale.

July 25, 2017

Alexander Levy defends Porsche European Open

After the Open Championship at Royal Birkdale last week, the European Tour travels to Germany for the Porsche European Open. Alexander Levy will be the defending champion at the Green Eagle golf course in Hamburg.

July 25, 2017

The Open 2017: Should the driving range have been out of bounds?

It has had golf fans everywhere talking... Should the driving range have been out of bounds? We look at the crucial rules-related moment in the final round of the Open 2017

July 24, 2017