Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    Club Champion mikseymono's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Bretagne, France
    Posts
    54

    Gimmie putts in Match play - issues

    Hi team!

    So, played a few rounds last week in a mini Rydercup stylee thing. We had a few areas that I thought were interesting and seek further advice.

    1 - If you give someone a 2 ft putt and they decide to putt it and miss, this is just bad etiquette right? and they do not loose the hole

    2 - If your oppo has two putts on a similar line, one, 6 ft away for a birdie and win, whilst the other is 15ft from a hole and maybe for a half. We had a situation were I picked up the ball and gave them the 15ft putt, but they wanted to putt it anyway to see the line.

    So hive mind....a penny for your thoughts..............personally I thought I was a bit un sporty but we were having such a tight match and the rules were being tested on every hole...they even hit my playing partners buggy roof on a par three, when he was parked up near the green and wanted to retake the shot.....

    Cheers,

    M
    Handicap 4.0 - Driver 913 D2 with s+ Blue 70 shaft - Irons Titleist 716 AP2 - Vokey Wedges 52/58 SM5's - Putter Odyssey 2-ball - Balls - Srixon AD333 Tour

  2. #2
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    3,263

    Re: Gimmie putts in Match play - issues

    1) Correct

    2) This decision covers it.

    2-4/6 Putting Out After Concession of Stroke

    Rule 2-4 does not cover the question of whether a player may putt out after his next stroke has been conceded. A player incurs no penalty for holing out in such circumstances. However, if the act would be of assistance to a partner in a four-ball or best-ball match, the partner is, in equity (Rule 1-4), disqualified for the hole.

  3. #3
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Coventry
    Posts
    2,785

    Re: Gimmie putts in Match play - issues

    1, Yes, once a putt is conceded that's the hole over

    2, having conceded the 15ft putt the 6ft putt should have been played, before the practice putt

    this is how I would expect it to be
    IN THE BAG
    Orka GS5 10* Driver, 3 wood, GS5 19*, 22* & 25* hybrid,
    Orka RS5 4-6 irons, Orka RS3 7-PW irons
    Orka J29v 52* 56* wedges, Taylormade Rossa Monte Carlo putter

    H/C
    2017 start 13.6, >13.7, >13.8, <13.2

  4. #4
    Club Champion mikseymono's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Bretagne, France
    Posts
    54

    Re: Gimmie putts in Match play - issues

    This was my thoughts for 2...but they insisted on putting it first, to assist the potential winning putt...hence I just picked it up and gave it to them....to they had to putt the shortest putt and then, if they wanted practise the longer putt........which they didn't do...as they missed the short one and then were a bit miffed...and then we had 'Buggygate' on the next hole....

    M
    Handicap 4.0 - Driver 913 D2 with s+ Blue 70 shaft - Irons Titleist 716 AP2 - Vokey Wedges 52/58 SM5's - Putter Odyssey 2-ball - Balls - Srixon AD333 Tour

  5. #5
    Tour Winner Old Skier's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Instow - play in North Devon
    Posts
    4,310

    Re: Gimmie putts in Match play - issues

    The buggygate incident allowed the opposition to replay the shot.

    http://www.randa.org/Rules-of-Golf/M...t-in-Matchplay
    Last edited by Old Skier; 17-May-2017 at 20:04.

  6. #6
    Tour Rookie Hosel Fade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Surrey/Berks
    Posts
    1,110

    Re: Gimmie putts in Match play - issues

    1) Concessions are binding, no taking them back

    2) If the 15' is putted and on a similar line to the 6' where it would help, then the ball lying 6' is de facto DQd from the hole

    The buggy is equipment and balls deflected by the opponents equipment may be replayed, they also have the choice of taking the result of the deflected shot if they want.
    Last edited by Hosel Fade; 17-May-2017 at 22:07.
    9.5* Ping i20 Stock Stiff
    15* Taylormade R15 Fujikura FUEL 60 S
    18* Adams Pro DHY Aldila Tour Blue 85 S
    4-PW John Letters Master Model S300
    52*,56*,60* John Letters Tour Black DG Spinner
    34" Odyssey Metal X Milled #1
    2016 Handicap par 73 SSS71 - 10.0 -> 10.1 (NR,95 adj) -> 10.2 (net 79)
    http://www.driftgolfclub.com/golf/

  7. #7
    Club Champion mikseymono's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Bretagne, France
    Posts
    54

    Re: Gimmie putts in Match play - issues

    Hosel Fade...are you suggesting they can't putt the 15' ball then if I give it to them? This:
    2-4/6 Putting Out After Concession of Stroke

    Rule 2-4 does not cover the question of whether a player may putt out after his next stroke has been conceded. A player incurs no penalty for holing out in such circumstances. However, if the act would be of assistance to a partner in a four-ball or best-ball match, the partner is, in equity (Rule 1-4), disqualified for the hole.


    Guess I was right all along..............

    M
    Handicap 4.0 - Driver 913 D2 with s+ Blue 70 shaft - Irons Titleist 716 AP2 - Vokey Wedges 52/58 SM5's - Putter Odyssey 2-ball - Balls - Srixon AD333 Tour

  8. #8
    Money List Winner paddyk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    5,746

    Re: Gimmie putts in Match play - issues

    Quote Originally Posted by mikseymono View Post
    Hosel Fade...are you suggesting they can't putt the 15' ball then if I give it to them? This:
    2-4/6 Putting Out After Concession of Stroke

    Rule 2-4 does not cover the question of whether a player may putt out after his next stroke has been conceded. A player incurs no penalty for holing out in such circumstances. However, if the act would be of assistance to a partner in a four-ball or best-ball match, the partner is, in equity (Rule 1-4), disqualified for the hole.


    Guess I was right all along..............

    M
    Er.. it was answered in post 2

  9. #9
    Ryder Cup Winner Region3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Leicester
    Posts
    11,984

    Re: Gimmie putts in Match play - issues

    Quote Originally Posted by mikseymono View Post
    Guess I was right all along..............
    But not about the buggy

  10. #10
    Tour Winner North Mimms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    3,044

    Re: Gimmie putts in Match play - issues

    I've given someone a long putt for a half just as you did, and she also wanted to still take it to show her partner the line
    Er, no. That's why I've given you the putt!
    Better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to open your mouth and remove all doubt

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Latest Golf News

Stenson In Striking Distance At BMW PGA Championship

The world number five shot a bogey free 68 (-4) to lie two behind fellow Swede Johan Carlsson

May 25, 2017

Was Piers Morgan The Worst Golfer At Wentworth?

The BMW PGA Championship celebrity pro-am saw broadcaster Piers Morgan take to Wentworth's Burma Road. Take a look at a couple of his swings...

May 25, 2017

Tiger Woods Says He “Hasn’t Felt This Good In Years”

The 14-time major winner has successfully undergone surgery on his back for the fourth time

May 25, 2017

BMW PGA Championship Golf Betting Tips

A stellar field has assembled at stunning Wentworth, check out who we think will do well with these BMW PGA Championship Golf Betting Tips

May 23, 2017

DEAN & DELUCA Invitational Betting Tips

The PGA Tour are still in Texas for a newly named tournament, check out who we think will do well with these DEAN & DELUCA Invitational Golf Betting Tips

May 23, 2017