Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Money List Winner sawtooth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Berkshire
    Posts
    6,973

    DQ or Not DQ - Part 2

    Player A is marking player B card in a 3 ball. Player A leaves course abruptly and with very little warning due to an emergency phone call.

    Player A walks off with Player B card.

    Can Player B write out a new card and get Player C to mark it? Or is that just plain bad luck and a DQ for failing to retrieve signed card before Player A disappeared?
    "No matter what happens one day, I will always love this club forever and be an eternal fan. I dedicate my life to make you happy"

    Arsene Wenger 2017

  2. #2
    Hall of Famer Liverpoolphil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    37,195

    Re: DQ or Not DQ - Part 2

    Yes he can write out a new card

    The card can't be signed if they haven't finished the round

  3. #3
    Money List Winner sawtooth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Berkshire
    Posts
    6,973

    Re: DQ or Not DQ - Part 2

    Quote Originally Posted by Liverpoolphil View Post
    Yes he can write out a new card

    The card can't be signed if they haven't finished the round
    It has to be signed by player A to the point at which he left (13th hole) and then player C takes over and signs for the rest no?
    "No matter what happens one day, I will always love this club forever and be an eternal fan. I dedicate my life to make you happy"

    Arsene Wenger 2017

  4. #4
    Hall of Famer Liverpoolphil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    37,195

    Re: DQ or Not DQ - Part 2

    Quote Originally Posted by sawtooth View Post
    It has to be signed by player A to the point at which he left (13th hole) and then player C takes over and signs for the rest no?
    Not for me - as long as the player who signs the card at the end has been with the group the whole 18 holes.

  5. #5
    Money List Winner sawtooth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Berkshire
    Posts
    6,973

    Re: DQ or Not DQ - Part 2

    Quote Originally Posted by Liverpoolphil View Post
    Not for me - as long as the player who signs the card at the end has been with the group the whole 18 holes.
    I think that's the way we will play it, seems a bit harsh to DQ as it wasn't really Players B fault that the other player ran off with his card.
    "No matter what happens one day, I will always love this club forever and be an eternal fan. I dedicate my life to make you happy"

    Arsene Wenger 2017

  6. #6
    Hall of Famer Liverpoolphil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    37,195

    Re: DQ or Not DQ - Part 2

    Quote Originally Posted by sawtooth View Post
    I think that's the way we will play it, seems a bit harsh to DQ as it wasn't really Players B fault that the other player ran off with his card.
    There seems to me to be no ground to DQ them

  7. #7
    Money List Winner sawtooth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Berkshire
    Posts
    6,973

    Re: DQ or Not DQ - Part 2

    Quote Originally Posted by Liverpoolphil View Post
    There seems to me to be no ground to DQ them
    I was only thinking that the card really ought to have all markers signatures on it and that wouldn't be the case if the person who marked the first 13 holes disappeared.
    "No matter what happens one day, I will always love this club forever and be an eternal fan. I dedicate my life to make you happy"

    Arsene Wenger 2017

  8. #8
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    3,913

    Re: DQ or Not DQ - Part 2

    In equity Decision 6-6b/6 should be used.

    ........ the Committee should accept verification of the scores for each hole by someone else who witnessed the round (e.g., the marker's caddie or the competitor's caddie) or, if no one else is available, by the competitor himself. Normally, a competitor who does not have proper verification of his score card is disqualified. However, in this exceptional case where actions beyond the competitor's control resulted in the return of his score card without his marker's signature, there is no penalty.

  9. #9
    Head Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    294

    Re: DQ or Not DQ - Part 2

    Quote Originally Posted by sawtooth View Post
    I was only thinking that the card really ought to have all markers signatures on it and that wouldn't be the case if the person who marked the first 13 holes disappeared.
    You are correct. A marker must sign the card for the holes that they were the marker. This player's card would have two marker signatures.
    Quoting from Decision 6-6b/6 -
    Since A has disappeared, the Committee should make every reasonable effort to contact him. If unsuccessful, the Committee should accept verification of the scores for each hole by someone else who witnessed the round (eg, the marker's caddie or competitor's caddie) or, if no one else is available, by the competitor himself.

    edit - see that rulefan posted same.

  10. #10
    Global Moderator DCB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Midlothian
    Posts
    7,318

    Re: DQ or Not DQ - Part 2

    Quote Originally Posted by Liverpoolphil View Post
    Not for me - as long as the player who signs the card at the end has been with the group the whole 18 holes.

    Yep, I'd go along with this.

    Not players fault someone had left abruptly.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Latest Golf News

10 New Year’s Resolutions For Every Golfer

A new year calls for new resolutions. It’s time to wipe the worries of 2017 away and start over with a fresh new slate. Dust off your clubs, stock up on tees and forget about all those three putts. Enjoy your golf game even more this season by taking up these New Year’s resolutions. By Sam Tremlett

December 12, 2017

Golf To Scrap Viewer Call-Ins On Rules Infringements

Golf's governing bodies have responded to the Lexi Thompson debacle in April

December 11, 2017

Shubhankar Sharma wins Joburg Open

Shubhankar Sharma of India held his nerve to win the weather-delayed Joburg Open at the Randpark Golf Club by three shots from South Africa’s Erik Van Rooyen.

December 11, 2017

Stricker and O’Hair win QBE Shootout

Steve Stricker and Sean O’Hair battled through cold and windy conditions to win the QBE Shootout at Tiburon GC in Florida by two shots from Irish pairing of Shane Lowry and Graeme McDowell.

December 11, 2017

Rory McIlroy To Keep Harry Diamond As Caddie In 2018

The four-time major winner will keep best mate Harry Diamond on the bag in 2018

December 8, 2017