Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Money List Winner sawtooth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Berkshire
    Posts
    6,973

    Lateral water hazard

    At the back of our 11th green we have a water hazard that is marked with red stakes. Its a hazard that normally comes into play on the hole backing on to this hole (15th). Red stakes on that hole makes sense but on the 11th I cant see how you can use the 2 club length rule as any drop would make it go nearer the hole. Its impractical to go onto the other side of the hazard so cannot use the rule of going back on the imaginary line as far as you would like either.Luckily I managed to play the ball as it lied as the hazard was dry. However had it been wet the only option that I could have taken is to replay my shot from the bunker (and try not to thin it next time).When only 1 of the 3 options is possible should this really be a hazard at all playing the 11th?I think it really ought to have a drop zone instead. Thoughts?Will post a picture if it helps visualise what I mean.
    "No matter what happens one day, I will always love this club forever and be an eternal fan. I dedicate my life to make you happy"

    Arsene Wenger 2017

  2. #2
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    3,913

    Re: Lateral water hazard

    A picture would be useful but it does sound like a not uncommon problem. A lateral water hazard where none of the normal options (except S&D) can be used in practice.

    The best way out is usually one or more optional dropping zones.

  3. #3
    Money List Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    8,420

    Re: Lateral water hazard

    I agree with rulefan, classic case for drop zone.

    Don't understand your reference to 'should this even be a hazard playing the 11th?' - your 4th option is to play it as it lies even if it is in a designated hazard so the designation doesn't reduce you options per se.
    some metal woods,
    any old irons,
    Pick up balls....

    10.8 and moving the right way again...

  4. #4
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    3,913

    Re: Lateral water hazard

    Quote Originally Posted by sawtooth View Post
    When only 1 of the 3 options is possible should this really be a hazard at all playing the 11th?
    Regardless of the practically of using all the options, if it satisfies the definition of a water hazard, it is a water hazard. That cannot be changed.

  5. #5
    Money List Winner sawtooth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Berkshire
    Posts
    6,973

    Re: Lateral water hazard

    Heres the hole in question.

    If the hazard is wet (which it is for most of the year) then it plays like OOB. The only option is to go back and play it again from the bunker. A bit unfair I think.

    Untitled.jpg
    "No matter what happens one day, I will always love this club forever and be an eternal fan. I dedicate my life to make you happy"

    Arsene Wenger 2017

  6. #6
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    3,913

    Re: Lateral water hazard

    That is a prime candidate for a DZ.

    But given that the DZ should not be nearer the hole, I'm not sure where you would put it. Probably near one or both of the bunkers.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Latest Golf News

10 New Year’s Resolutions For Every Golfer

A new year calls for new resolutions. It’s time to wipe the worries of 2017 away and start over with a fresh new slate. Dust off your clubs, stock up on tees and forget about all those three putts. Enjoy your golf game even more this season by taking up these New Year’s resolutions. By Sam Tremlett

December 12, 2017

Golf To Scrap Viewer Call-Ins On Rules Infringements

Golf's governing bodies have responded to the Lexi Thompson debacle in April

December 11, 2017

Shubhankar Sharma wins Joburg Open

Shubhankar Sharma of India held his nerve to win the weather-delayed Joburg Open at the Randpark Golf Club by three shots from South Africa’s Erik Van Rooyen.

December 11, 2017

Stricker and O’Hair win QBE Shootout

Steve Stricker and Sean O’Hair battled through cold and windy conditions to win the QBE Shootout at Tiburon GC in Florida by two shots from Irish pairing of Shane Lowry and Graeme McDowell.

December 11, 2017

Rory McIlroy To Keep Harry Diamond As Caddie In 2018

The four-time major winner will keep best mate Harry Diamond on the bag in 2018

December 8, 2017