Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678
Results 71 to 80 of 80
  1. #71
    Challenge Tour Pro HDID Kenny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Bonnybridge
    Posts
    622

    Re: Texas Scramble query....

    Quote Originally Posted by doublebogey7 View Post
    From rhe rules of golf definitions "A ball is "in play" as soon as the player has made a stroke on the teeing ground". It only becomes out of play when it lies out of bounds, so he has put a ball in play.
    It doesn't say you can only choose players drive if it is in play, you are choosing his drive, the fact it finishes OOB dictates the next action which is everyone playing the 3rd shot from the teeing area.
    Ping G 12o SF Tech Driver
    Ping G 16o SF Tech 3 Wood
    Ping G 19o SF Tech 5 Wood
    Ping G 21o 4 Crossover
    Ping G Max 5-PW Irons
    Ping Glide 52o SS Wedge
    Ping Glide 56o SS Wedge
    Ping Glide 60o WS Wedge
    Scotty Cameron Studio Fastback 1.0 Putter - Custom Fitted

    Vice Pro

    Member of-
    http://www.glenberviegolfclub.com

    Handicap 18

  2. #72
    Head Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Leicester
    Posts
    376

    Re: Texas Scramble query....

    Quote Originally Posted by HDID Kenny View Post
    It doesn't say you can only choose players drive if it is in play, you are choosing his drive, the fact it finishes OOB dictates the next action which is everyone playing the 3rd shot from the teeing area.
    I agree

  3. #73
    Money List Winner williamalex1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    uddingston
    Posts
    6,419

    Re: Texas Scramble query....

    Quote Originally Posted by HDID Kenny View Post
    It doesn't say you can only choose players drive if it is in play, you are choosing his drive, the fact it finishes OOB dictates the next action which is everyone playing the 3rd shot from the teeing area.
    I thought the player who's drive was selected, had to play the next stroke with his ball.
    handicap 15.1 oops 15.4 .awe naw 15.5. 15.8------------16.6 --17.1- 17.4 ,16.5, 16.8.oops 17.3,17.4, 17.5, 17.6, 17.0, 17.1,17.2 , 17.3 , 17.4 . 17.5.

  4. #74
    Challenge Tour Pro HDID Kenny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Bonnybridge
    Posts
    622

    Re: Texas Scramble query....

    Quote Originally Posted by williamalex1 View Post
    I thought the player who's drive was selected, had to play the next stroke with his ball.
    Not under penalty,, if player hits it into a water hazard and is unable to retrieve the ball, he would drop a new ball under penalty.
    Ping G 12o SF Tech Driver
    Ping G 16o SF Tech 3 Wood
    Ping G 19o SF Tech 5 Wood
    Ping G 21o 4 Crossover
    Ping G Max 5-PW Irons
    Ping Glide 52o SS Wedge
    Ping Glide 56o SS Wedge
    Ping Glide 60o WS Wedge
    Scotty Cameron Studio Fastback 1.0 Putter - Custom Fitted

    Vice Pro

    Member of-
    http://www.glenberviegolfclub.com

    Handicap 18

  5. #75
    Money List Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    7,901

    Re: Texas Scramble query....

    Quote Originally Posted by HDID Kenny View Post
    It doesn't say you can only choose players drive if it is in play, you are choosing his drive, the fact it finishes OOB dictates the next action which is everyone playing the 3rd shot from the teeing area.
    Totally correct

    (Not withstanding total agreement that organising committees should publish clear guidelines for any specific scramble rules in force - same for grensomes and derivatives)
    some metal woods,
    any old irons,
    Pick up balls....

    10.8 and moving the right way again...

  6. #76
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    2,591

    Re: Texas Scramble query....

    Quote Originally Posted by GreggerKBR View Post
    I confess I did once ask a chap to putt his ball up the teeing ground on a par 3, many years ago.
    So that he didn't knock it into knee deep rough or worse!
    Would suggesting a deliberate air shot have been a better option? If Player A sticks it OOB or into a bush you would all have been playing 3 either off the tee or from a drop from the bush. With an air shot you could have played 2 from the tee (could all players have teed it up for their shots?). I'm not suggesting that this is ethical or within the rules of golf but would it have been a better suggestion?

  7. #77
    Journeyman Pro Green Bay Hacker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    1,604

    Re: Texas Scramble query....

    Quote Originally Posted by ColchesterFC View Post
    Would suggesting a deliberate air shot have been a better option? If Player A sticks it OOB or into a bush you would all have been playing 3 either off the tee or from a drop from the bush. With an air shot you could have played 2 from the tee (could all players have teed it up for their shots?). I'm not suggesting that this is ethical or within the rules of golf but would it have been a better suggestion?
    Interesting point that. As we know, a ball is in play when you make a stroke at it and with an air shot you are usually making a stroke at the ball and it is not a deliberate miss. However, if you do a deliberate air shot you are probably not making a stroke at the ball so it is not in play. Is that a correct assumption?
    Very old TM R7, Cobra S9.1 3 wood, TaylorMade RBZ 5 wood, Cobra Amp Cell 2-3 Hybrid, Ping G20 irons 5-PW, Titleist 52,56 and 60 Vokey wedges, Odyssey Works Versa Marxman putter (yet to be tested).

  8. #78
    Journeyman Pro
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    2,461

    Re: Texas Scramble query....

    A deliberate air shot cannot be a stroke as there was no intention of striking the ball.

  9. #79
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    2,941

    Re: Texas Scramble query....

    Yes.

    There is (or was) a decision somewhere that related to a Foursome where a lady couldn't clear a problem area with her tee shot, so she deliberately missed the ball so the her male partner could have a nice lie for him to hit it clear.
    I think the penalty was DQ under 33-7.

  10. #80
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    2,941

    Re: Texas Scramble query....

    Quote Originally Posted by rulefan View Post
    Yes.

    There is (or was) a decision somewhere that related to a Foursome where a lady couldn't clear a problem area with her tee shot, so she deliberately missed the ball so the her male partner could have a nice lie for him to hit it clear.
    I think the penalty was DQ under 33-7.
    Just found it. Couldn't find it before.

    It is in fact 29-1/7

    http://www.usga.org/rules/rules-and-...ion-29,d29-1-7

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Latest Golf News

The Honda Classic Golf Betting Tips

A strong European contingent has assembled in Florida, check out who we think will do well with these The Honda Classic Golf Betting Tips

February 21, 2017

Joburg Open Golf Betting Tips

This week the European Tour is back in South Africa for the Joburg Open, check out who the GM Tipster thinks will do well with these Joburg Open Golf Betting Tips

February 21, 2017

Florida Swing kicks off with The Honda Classic

The PGA Tour’s Florida Swing gets underway this week with The Honda Classic at PGA National in Palm Beach Gardens. Adam Scott is the defending champion.

February 21, 2017

Open spots up for grabs in Joburg Open

The European Tour returns to South Africa this week for the Joburg Open. Haydn Porteous is defending champion and three places in The Open Championship are up for grabs.

February 21, 2017