Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678
Results 71 to 80 of 80
  1. #71
    Challenge Tour Pro HDID Kenny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Bonnybridge
    Posts
    632

    Re: Texas Scramble query....

    Quote Originally Posted by doublebogey7 View Post
    From rhe rules of golf definitions "A ball is "in play" as soon as the player has made a stroke on the teeing ground". It only becomes out of play when it lies out of bounds, so he has put a ball in play.
    It doesn't say you can only choose players drive if it is in play, you are choosing his drive, the fact it finishes OOB dictates the next action which is everyone playing the 3rd shot from the teeing area.
    Ping G 12o SF Tech Driver
    Ping G 16o SF Tech 3 Wood
    Ping G 19o SF Tech 5 Wood
    Ping G 21o 4 Crossover
    Ping G Max 5-PW Irons
    Ping Glide 52o SS Wedge
    Ping Glide 56o SS Wedge
    Ping Glide 60o WS Wedge
    Scotty Cameron Studio Fastback 1.0 Putter - Custom Fitted

    Vice Pro

    Member of-
    http://www.glenberviegolfclub.com

    Handicap 18

  2. #72
    Head Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Leicester
    Posts
    394

    Re: Texas Scramble query....

    Quote Originally Posted by HDID Kenny View Post
    It doesn't say you can only choose players drive if it is in play, you are choosing his drive, the fact it finishes OOB dictates the next action which is everyone playing the 3rd shot from the teeing area.
    I agree

  3. #73
    Money List Winner williamalex1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    uddingston
    Posts
    6,568

    Re: Texas Scramble query....

    Quote Originally Posted by HDID Kenny View Post
    It doesn't say you can only choose players drive if it is in play, you are choosing his drive, the fact it finishes OOB dictates the next action which is everyone playing the 3rd shot from the teeing area.
    I thought the player who's drive was selected, had to play the next stroke with his ball.
    handicap 15.1 oops 15.4 .awe naw 15.5. 15.8------------16.6 --17.1- 17.4 ,16.5, 16.8.oops 17.3,17.4, 17.5, 17.6, 17.0, 17.1,17.2 , 17.3 , 17.4 . 17.5.

  4. #74
    Challenge Tour Pro HDID Kenny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Bonnybridge
    Posts
    632

    Re: Texas Scramble query....

    Quote Originally Posted by williamalex1 View Post
    I thought the player who's drive was selected, had to play the next stroke with his ball.
    Not under penalty,, if player hits it into a water hazard and is unable to retrieve the ball, he would drop a new ball under penalty.
    Ping G 12o SF Tech Driver
    Ping G 16o SF Tech 3 Wood
    Ping G 19o SF Tech 5 Wood
    Ping G 21o 4 Crossover
    Ping G Max 5-PW Irons
    Ping Glide 52o SS Wedge
    Ping Glide 56o SS Wedge
    Ping Glide 60o WS Wedge
    Scotty Cameron Studio Fastback 1.0 Putter - Custom Fitted

    Vice Pro

    Member of-
    http://www.glenberviegolfclub.com

    Handicap 18

  5. #75
    Money List Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    7,921

    Re: Texas Scramble query....

    Quote Originally Posted by HDID Kenny View Post
    It doesn't say you can only choose players drive if it is in play, you are choosing his drive, the fact it finishes OOB dictates the next action which is everyone playing the 3rd shot from the teeing area.
    Totally correct

    (Not withstanding total agreement that organising committees should publish clear guidelines for any specific scramble rules in force - same for grensomes and derivatives)
    some metal woods,
    any old irons,
    Pick up balls....

    10.8 and moving the right way again...

  6. #76
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    2,716

    Re: Texas Scramble query....

    Quote Originally Posted by GreggerKBR View Post
    I confess I did once ask a chap to putt his ball up the teeing ground on a par 3, many years ago.
    So that he didn't knock it into knee deep rough or worse!
    Would suggesting a deliberate air shot have been a better option? If Player A sticks it OOB or into a bush you would all have been playing 3 either off the tee or from a drop from the bush. With an air shot you could have played 2 from the tee (could all players have teed it up for their shots?). I'm not suggesting that this is ethical or within the rules of golf but would it have been a better suggestion?

  7. #77
    Journeyman Pro Green Bay Hacker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    1,647

    Re: Texas Scramble query....

    Quote Originally Posted by ColchesterFC View Post
    Would suggesting a deliberate air shot have been a better option? If Player A sticks it OOB or into a bush you would all have been playing 3 either off the tee or from a drop from the bush. With an air shot you could have played 2 from the tee (could all players have teed it up for their shots?). I'm not suggesting that this is ethical or within the rules of golf but would it have been a better suggestion?
    Interesting point that. As we know, a ball is in play when you make a stroke at it and with an air shot you are usually making a stroke at the ball and it is not a deliberate miss. However, if you do a deliberate air shot you are probably not making a stroke at the ball so it is not in play. Is that a correct assumption?
    G20, Cobra S9.1 3 wood, TaylorMade RBZ 5 wood, Cobra Amp Cell 2-3 Hybrid, Ping G20 irons 6-PW, Titleist 52,56 and 60 Vokey wedges, Scotty Futura X..

  8. #78
    Journeyman Pro
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    2,490

    Re: Texas Scramble query....

    A deliberate air shot cannot be a stroke as there was no intention of striking the ball.

  9. #79
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    3,048

    Re: Texas Scramble query....

    Yes.

    There is (or was) a decision somewhere that related to a Foursome where a lady couldn't clear a problem area with her tee shot, so she deliberately missed the ball so the her male partner could have a nice lie for him to hit it clear.
    I think the penalty was DQ under 33-7.

  10. #80
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    3,048

    Re: Texas Scramble query....

    Quote Originally Posted by rulefan View Post
    Yes.

    There is (or was) a decision somewhere that related to a Foursome where a lady couldn't clear a problem area with her tee shot, so she deliberately missed the ball so the her male partner could have a nice lie for him to hit it clear.
    I think the penalty was DQ under 33-7.
    Just found it. Couldn't find it before.

    It is in fact 29-1/7

    http://www.usga.org/rules/rules-and-...ion-29,d29-1-7

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Latest Golf News

Why Golfers Might Want To Ditch The iPhone And Buy A Samsung Galaxy S8 Instead

From great looks to wide-ranging app and fitness tracking functionality, here’s why you might want to seriously consider ditching the iPhone and buying a Samsung Galaxy S8 this year - By James Laird

March 29, 2017

PGA Tour To Trial Rangefinders In Tournaments

The PGA Tour has announced that it will trial the use of range finders during selected tournaments this year on the Web.com Tour, Mackenzie Tour - PGA Tour Canada and the PGA Tour Latinoamerica.

March 29, 2017

BBC’s Hazel Irvine To Present Final Masters This Year

Hazel Irvine will step down as BBC Golf's lead anchor after the Masters after 25 years covering the sport for the BBC

March 29, 2017

WATCH: Fault Fixer Special Facebook Live With Top 25 Coach Ged Walters

We caught up with Top 25 coach Ged Walters at West Hill Golf Club for the Facebook Live Fault Fixer Special where Ged did a live clinic with questions coming in from GM readers.

March 28, 2017

Shell Houston Open Golf Betting Tips

It is the final week before the first Major of the season and the 2017 US Masters - check out who we think will do well with our Shell Houston Open Golf Betting Tips

March 28, 2017