Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678
Results 71 to 80 of 80
  1. #71
    Challenge Tour Pro HDID Kenny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Bonnybridge
    Posts
    672

    Re: Texas Scramble query....

    Quote Originally Posted by doublebogey7 View Post
    From rhe rules of golf definitions "A ball is "in play" as soon as the player has made a stroke on the teeing ground". It only becomes out of play when it lies out of bounds, so he has put a ball in play.
    It doesn't say you can only choose players drive if it is in play, you are choosing his drive, the fact it finishes OOB dictates the next action which is everyone playing the 3rd shot from the teeing area.
    Ping G 12o SF Tech Driver
    Ping G 16o SF Tech 3 Wood
    Ping G 19o SF Tech 5 Wood
    Ping G 21o 4 Crossover
    Titleist AP1 716 5-W Irons
    Cleveland 54o 588 RTX 2.0 Wedge
    Cleveland 58o 588 RTX 2.0 Wedge
    Scotty Studio Fastback 1.0 Putter

    Titleist Pro V1

    Member of-
    http://www.glenberviegolfclub.com

    Handicap 19

  2. #72
    Head Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Leicester
    Posts
    413

    Re: Texas Scramble query....

    Quote Originally Posted by HDID Kenny View Post
    It doesn't say you can only choose players drive if it is in play, you are choosing his drive, the fact it finishes OOB dictates the next action which is everyone playing the 3rd shot from the teeing area.
    I agree

  3. #73
    Money List Winner williamalex1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    uddingston
    Posts
    7,044

    Re: Texas Scramble query....

    Quote Originally Posted by HDID Kenny View Post
    It doesn't say you can only choose players drive if it is in play, you are choosing his drive, the fact it finishes OOB dictates the next action which is everyone playing the 3rd shot from the teeing area.
    I thought the player who's drive was selected, had to play the next stroke with his ball.
    handicap 15.5

  4. #74
    Challenge Tour Pro HDID Kenny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Bonnybridge
    Posts
    672

    Re: Texas Scramble query....

    Quote Originally Posted by williamalex1 View Post
    I thought the player who's drive was selected, had to play the next stroke with his ball.
    Not under penalty,, if player hits it into a water hazard and is unable to retrieve the ball, he would drop a new ball under penalty.
    Ping G 12o SF Tech Driver
    Ping G 16o SF Tech 3 Wood
    Ping G 19o SF Tech 5 Wood
    Ping G 21o 4 Crossover
    Titleist AP1 716 5-W Irons
    Cleveland 54o 588 RTX 2.0 Wedge
    Cleveland 58o 588 RTX 2.0 Wedge
    Scotty Studio Fastback 1.0 Putter

    Titleist Pro V1

    Member of-
    http://www.glenberviegolfclub.com

    Handicap 19

  5. #75
    Money List Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    8,151

    Re: Texas Scramble query....

    Quote Originally Posted by HDID Kenny View Post
    It doesn't say you can only choose players drive if it is in play, you are choosing his drive, the fact it finishes OOB dictates the next action which is everyone playing the 3rd shot from the teeing area.
    Totally correct

    (Not withstanding total agreement that organising committees should publish clear guidelines for any specific scramble rules in force - same for grensomes and derivatives)
    some metal woods,
    any old irons,
    Pick up balls....

    10.8 and moving the right way again...

  6. #76
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    2,928

    Re: Texas Scramble query....

    Quote Originally Posted by GreggerKBR View Post
    I confess I did once ask a chap to putt his ball up the teeing ground on a par 3, many years ago.
    So that he didn't knock it into knee deep rough or worse!
    Would suggesting a deliberate air shot have been a better option? If Player A sticks it OOB or into a bush you would all have been playing 3 either off the tee or from a drop from the bush. With an air shot you could have played 2 from the tee (could all players have teed it up for their shots?). I'm not suggesting that this is ethical or within the rules of golf but would it have been a better suggestion?

  7. #77
    Journeyman Pro Green Bay Hacker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    1,806

    Re: Texas Scramble query....

    Quote Originally Posted by ColchesterFC View Post
    Would suggesting a deliberate air shot have been a better option? If Player A sticks it OOB or into a bush you would all have been playing 3 either off the tee or from a drop from the bush. With an air shot you could have played 2 from the tee (could all players have teed it up for their shots?). I'm not suggesting that this is ethical or within the rules of golf but would it have been a better suggestion?
    Interesting point that. As we know, a ball is in play when you make a stroke at it and with an air shot you are usually making a stroke at the ball and it is not a deliberate miss. However, if you do a deliberate air shot you are probably not making a stroke at the ball so it is not in play. Is that a correct assumption?
    G20, Cobra S9.1 3 wood, TaylorMade RBZ 5 wood, Cobra Amp Cell 2-3 Hybrid, Ping G20 irons 6-PW, Titleist 52,56 and 60 Vokey wedges, Scotty Futura X..

  8. #78
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    2,669

    Re: Texas Scramble query....

    A deliberate air shot cannot be a stroke as there was no intention of striking the ball.

  9. #79
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    3,460

    Re: Texas Scramble query....

    Yes.

    There is (or was) a decision somewhere that related to a Foursome where a lady couldn't clear a problem area with her tee shot, so she deliberately missed the ball so the her male partner could have a nice lie for him to hit it clear.
    I think the penalty was DQ under 33-7.

  10. #80
    Tour Winner
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    3,460

    Re: Texas Scramble query....

    Quote Originally Posted by rulefan View Post
    Yes.

    There is (or was) a decision somewhere that related to a Foursome where a lady couldn't clear a problem area with her tee shot, so she deliberately missed the ball so the her male partner could have a nice lie for him to hit it clear.
    I think the penalty was DQ under 33-7.
    Just found it. Couldn't find it before.

    It is in fact 29-1/7

    http://www.usga.org/rules/rules-and-...ion-29,d29-1-7

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Latest Golf News

RBC Canadian Open Golf Betting Tips

The PGA Tour are in Canada this week just before the USPGA Championship, check out who we think are going to do well with our RBC Canadian Open Golf Betting Tips

July 26, 2017

Porsche European Open Golf Betting Tips

The European Tour’s first event since a dramatic Open Championship is the Porsche European Open Golf Betting Tips

July 26, 2017

Matt Kuchar looks to push on at Canadian Open

The PGA Tour travels west across the Atlantic to Ontario this week for the RBC Canadian Open. Venezuela’s Jhonattan Vegas defends the title at Glen Abbey GC and Matt Kuchar will look to bounce back strongly after narrowly missing out in The Open Championship at Birkdale.

July 25, 2017

Alexander Levy defends Porsche European Open

After the Open Championship at Royal Birkdale last week, the European Tour travels to Germany for the Porsche European Open. Alexander Levy will be the defending champion at the Green Eagle golf course in Hamburg.

July 25, 2017

The Open 2017: Should the driving range have been out of bounds?

It has had golf fans everywhere talking... Should the driving range have been out of bounds? We look at the crucial rules-related moment in the final round of the Open 2017

July 24, 2017