Golf Monthly Forums

Golf_monthly

Navigation

US Masters 2014
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Using a stand bag with a trolley

So I recently started playing golf on various council owned courses along with my Dad and his friend. Both have got golf trolleys and I have just been carrying my bag around. It's a stand bag and quite bulky. I decided to buy a cheap golf trolley because of the obvious benefit of moving about, not get tired fast etc etc. Anyway my bag fits quite well onto the trolley but needs tightened regularly to stop the bag rotating and potentially capsizing the trolley. I really, really don't think my girlfriend will cope if I spend even more money so soon on my new hobby. Basically what I want is a general consensus if a) it's feasible to use my stand bag with a trolley and b) if I'm going to look a prize pillock strolling about with the bag on a trolley.
    If anyone has discovered any techniques to persuade the other half that golf gear really is a great investment then those are also welcome

Tour Winner

Re: Using a stand bag with a trolley

I use all my bags on my trolley at times, and 3 are definitely not trolley bags. The secret is to establish the best way each sits on the trolley, and this is best done at home patiently rather than in the carpark. You may find straps, or bungees, necessary either in addition or as well as your trolley's arrangement.

As regards this particular investment - it's the only simple sale I know. Just point out that your bag doesn't fit your trolley and that you need her to carry the bag......
    some white sticks,
    any old irons,
    Pick up balls....

As long as you tie the straps up tight enough then a stand bag will sit on a trolley no problem. Just check the straps after each hole.

I put my stand bag on a trolley for comps. I don't care what they think. If they want a laugh, watch my swing. :P
    Callaway Razr Fit 9.5* (Aldila RIP'D NV Stiff)
    Callaway Diablo Octane Tour Fairway 15* (Stiff)