Search:

Type: Posts; User: rulie

Page 1 of 16 1 2 3 4

Search: Search took 0.16 seconds.

  1. Replies
    13
    Views
    426

    Re: Urgent help please

    Where is the breach of Rule 1-2?
  2. Replies
    13
    Views
    426

    Re: Urgent help please

    It would be a very weird and extremely rare situation, but think if A and B (as partners) were both on the putting green and have the same/similar line of putt. A "accidentally" kicks B's ball...
  3. Replies
    13
    Views
    426

    Re: Urgent help please

    Imo, it really doesn't matter if A gained an advantage or not, it is a one stroke penalty on B, A's partner.
  4. Replies
    6
    Views
    286

    Re: Discontinuing After Weather Delay

    Handicap Committee/system running away with its perceived authority?
  5. Replies
    30
    Views
    1,398

    Re: Feet behind the tee markers?

    Just like out of bounds:
    A ball is out of bounds when all of it lies out of bounds.

    It is inside when touching from the outside.
  6. Thread: Matchplay ruling

    by rulie
    Replies
    31
    Views
    1,202

    Re: Matchplay ruling

    Make certain that you reverse the complete procedure that you used to mark and move the ball or marker.
  7. Replies
    41
    Views
    2,392

    Re: Bridge over ditch

    I think you have the correct answers above - the bridge is in the hazard, the hazard margins go stake to stake on the same side of the hazard, ie, you don't connect stake to stake that crosses the...
  8. Thread: Alex Noren

    by rulie
    Replies
    7
    Views
    547

    Re: Alex Noren

    The ball is in play as soon as it is replaced with intent to put it into play; whether the marker is picked up or not is irrelevant.
  9. Replies
    4
    Views
    427

    Re: Practice putting during competition

    The caddies and players on the tours already have the records of previous years' hole locations on the greens of the course to be played. The caddies carry 4 1'4 inch white discs of thin...
  10. Replies
    4
    Views
    427

    Re: Practice putting during competition

    It's covered in Rule 7-2a (below). It is permitted in both match play and stroke play, but see Note 2 which is done by virtually all professional tours for stroke play.
    Can you imagine how slow...
  11. Replies
    21
    Views
    951

    Re: Shots allowance off which player?

    Just what is a "playing partner" and where do I find it in the Rule book? Even then, imo, use of "playing" to describe a partner in your post is redundant.
  12. Replies
    21
    Views
    951

    Re: Shots allowance off which player?

    Hmm... it is a Rules forum and using the correct terminology is important.
  13. Replies
    21
    Views
    951

    Re: Shots allowance off which player?

    Fixed it for you!
  14. Replies
    21
    Views
    1,302

    Re: Handicap 0.1 increases insufficient (help pls)

    Imo handicap authorities should not "punish" people and should be able to respond quickly to changes in the player's capability. For example, I started the year as a 5 (mid-March) but my poor play...
  15. Replies
    21
    Views
    1,302

    Re: Handicap 0.1 increases insufficient (help pls)

    Do a semi-annual review; ie, do it now.
  16. Replies
    46
    Views
    2,979

    Re: Ball Landing In Divot

    Recognize that Tufts wrote the principles many years ago. The language may seem somewhat effusive, but the principles remain as such and are still applicable.
  17. Replies
    34
    Views
    2,808

    Re: Competition result dispute.

    Nice, positive approach!
  18. Replies
    46
    Views
    2,979

    Re: Ball Landing In Divot

    At our course, we are encouraged to carry bottles of sand+seed mixture to fill divot holes left by inconsiderate others. We are not part of the green staff. Would these be different?
    An area...
  19. Replies
    34
    Views
    2,808

    Re: Competition result dispute.

    Just confirms that it was an abandoned ball and there is no penalty involved.
  20. Replies
    34
    Views
    2,808

    Re: Competition result dispute.

    Thanks, that was what I had thought. It's an equity and analogy Decision, and sometimes you needed to be there when it was written to totally understand it!
  21. Replies
    34
    Views
    2,808

    Re: Competition result dispute.

    What Decision are you referring to?
  22. Replies
    34
    Views
    2,808

    Re: Competition result dispute.

    I'll suggest that "abandoning" the ball makes it just a stray ball, not the player's equipment. It would become your equipment again if you were to pick it up.
  23. Replies
    34
    Views
    2,808

    Re: Competition result dispute.

    My ruling would be no penalty; it was an abandoned ball moved by an outside agency (albeit at the player's request).
  24. Replies
    28
    Views
    2,139

    Re: Relief in casual water

    A tree on the line of play is not sufficient that the Exception to the Rule (denying relief) applies. The whole stroke would need to be impracticable, not just a tree on the line of play that...
  25. Replies
    28
    Views
    2,139

    Re: Relief in casual water

    Usually this is not true. Any interference by the tree must make the stroke impracticable; otherwise free relief is available.
Results 1 to 25 of 389
Page 1 of 16 1 2 3 4

Latest Golf News

Bubba Watson Q&A: “I’ve Never Had A Lesson”

Joel Tadman caught up with Bubba Watson ahead of last year's Open, it made for a fascinating insight into the mind of the colourful two-time Masters champion

June 25, 2018

Wayne Riley: An Ode To The Game Of Golf

Those on the outside often question our sanity, but it is safe to say that nothing can come close to the grand old game. They don’t know what they are missing out on...

June 25, 2018

Bryson DeChambeau Compass Use Being Investigated

The Golfing Scientist was seen using a compass at the Travelers Championship

June 25, 2018

Hosung Choi: The Man With The Viral Golf Swing

Hosung Choi sent social media wild this weekend whilst in contention at the Korean Open

June 25, 2018

Matt Wallace What’s In The Bag?

What clubs did Matt Wallace use to win his third European Tour title in Germany?

June 25, 2018