Search:

Type: Posts; User: rulie

Page 1 of 14 1 2 3 4

Search: Search took 0.04 seconds.

  1. Thread: Ken3over

    by rulie
    Replies
    16
    Views
    655

    Re: Ken3over

    Yes, as per reply #2.
  2. Thread: Ken3over

    by rulie
    Replies
    16
    Views
    655

    Re: Ken3over

    Unless of course the player had deemed his ball unplayable and proceeded under 28c. Then it's only one stroke and no DQ.
  3. Thread: Ken3over

    by rulie
    Replies
    16
    Views
    655

    Re: Ken3over

    That's crappy!
    The Committee in charge of your course or your competition has authority to implement a local Rule covering animal dung (see below).
    Without such a local Rule having been...
  4. Replies
    31
    Views
    1,125

    Re: Can a concession such as this be discounted

    It was not match play - there can be no such thing as a "concession" as in the Rules of golf.
    It is now difficult for the Committee to determine that the course was unplayable - it should have been...
  5. Replies
    31
    Views
    1,125

    Re: Can a concession such as this be discounted

    If the Committee does not decide that the course was unplayable, then the side that left is disqualified. It's covered in Rule 6-8.
  6. Replies
    31
    Views
    1,125

    Re: Can a concession such as this be discounted

    Rule 2 - "In match play the game is played by holes." The game in the original post is a game of Stableford with the winner being the side with the most points. It's certainly a knockout...
  7. Replies
    31
    Views
    1,125

    Re: Can a concession such as this be discounted

    Is this really a match play situation and is Rule 2 applicable at all?
    My opinion is that the side abandoned the game, withdrew or whatever and have no recourse.
  8. Replies
    6
    Views
    363

    Re: Rules Quiz IV - true or false?

    There was a true one in III - did you miss it?
    It's like the expense account item - PACR (pi...ed away, can't remember).
  9. Replies
    0
    Views
    143

    Purpose of the Rules Quizzes

    As I said earlier, the Rules Quizzes that have been posted were a follow on from the thread "Ball Unplayable - play provisional instead?' and meant to be educational. They are nearly all part of a...
  10. Replies
    6
    Views
    363

    Rules Quiz IV - true or false?

    1. If your ball is not on the green, you may not have the flag attended; you must choose between 'In' or 'Out'.
    2. A player off the green must play before a player on the green regardless of...
  11. Replies
    11
    Views
    394

    Re: Ball Unplayable_Option b_ Whats the logic?

    Imo, the teeing ground has no logical relevance in applying options b and c of Rule 28, and is only relevant in option a if that is where the previous stroke was made.
  12. Replies
    10
    Views
    499

    Rules Quiz III - true or false?

    1. Proceeding under Rule 24-2 (immovable obstruction) or 25-1 (abnormal ground condition) must be witnessed by your opponent or fellow-competitor.
    2. If you make strokes at two wrong balls...
  13. Replies
    6
    Views
    335

    Re: Rules Quiz II - true or false?

    Imo, "line of flight" is not the same as "line of sight". "Line of flight" is the path the ball took to get to it's current position, "line of sight" is the path from the ball's current position to...
  14. Replies
    11
    Views
    546

    Re: Brief Rules quiz - true or false?

    Is the greatest probability true or false? (the only answers available) :confused:
  15. Replies
    6
    Views
    335

    Re: Rules Quiz II - true or false?

    BTW, these quizzes were inspired by the Rules misconceptions in the unplayable ball thread.
  16. Replies
    6
    Views
    335

    Rules Quiz II - true or false?

    "Line of flight" relief is allowed in the Rules of Golf.
    You cannot practice on the putting green of the hole last played.
    You may not change the type of ball you are playing between holes. ...
  17. Replies
    11
    Views
    546

    Re: Brief Rules quiz - true or false?

    Which one gets to choose - the right-hander or the left-hander? :D
  18. Replies
    11
    Views
    546

    Brief Rules quiz - true or false?

    1. You are not allowed to keep score with a pencil that has an eraser, since you might change the scores on the card.
    2. You are not allowed to change clubs once you have entered the bunker....
  19. Replies
    93
    Views
    3,673

    Re: Ball unplayable - play provisional instead?

    Yes, just another Rules myth to be debunked - for at least the 100th time!
  20. Replies
    93
    Views
    3,673

    Re: Ball unplayable - play provisional instead?

    The way some people talk about it, you'd think it's happening three or four times a round in most groups. I'll suggest that it doesn't happen more than once or twice over an entire day's play on the...
  21. Replies
    93
    Views
    3,673

    Re: Ball unplayable - play provisional instead?

    That Note is there to clarify that strokes made at the provisional ball, while it is still a provisional ball, and penalties incurred solely by playing the provisional ball, are disregarded once the...
  22. Replies
    93
    Views
    3,673

    Re: Ball unplayable - play provisional instead?

    Sorry I missed that post with the Note.

    I did address what the score would be if you played the provisional ball after finding the original.
  23. Replies
    93
    Views
    3,673

    Re: Ball unplayable - play provisional instead?

    You'll have to identify which "Note" you're referring to. Regardless, it will not permit using a provisional ball, played because the original may be lost or may be out of bounds, as a ball under...
  24. Replies
    93
    Views
    3,673

    Re: Ball unplayable - play provisional instead?

    Saving time doesn't trump all the Rules. The point has already been made that a player should not have a choice of which of two balls to play. If you don't want to find the original, don't look for...
  25. Replies
    93
    Views
    3,673

    Re: Ball unplayable - play provisional instead?

    Sure. Playing the provisional would be playing a wrong ball and he'd lose the hole in match play or add two strokes in stroke play and must still correct the error.
Results 1 to 25 of 332
Page 1 of 14 1 2 3 4

Latest Golf News

Tiger Woods To Hit “Four Or Five” Drivers A Day At Honda Classic

The 14-time major winner will surely hit more fairways this week at PGA National, revealing he's only going to hit "four or five" drivers per round

February 22, 2018

Smarter Ways to Lower Scores 2018 powered by Cobra Puma Golf

2 golfers will get the chance to lower their scores the ‘smarter way’ this year via our bigger and better 'Smarter Ways to Lower Scores 2018' project powered by Cobra Puma Golf

February 21, 2018

4 Ways to Improve Your Short Game Strikes

In this video, GM Top 25 coach John Jacobs shows 4 fail-safe chipping methods to help you stop wasting shots around the greens

February 21, 2018

Jim Furyk Names Woods And Stricker As Ryder Cup Vice Captains

Woods and Stricker will join Davis Love III as Jim Furyk's vice captains at Le Golf National

February 21, 2018

The Honda Classic Golf Betting Tips

A strong European contingent has assembled in Florida, check out who we think will do well with these The Honda Classic Golf Betting Tips

February 20, 2018