Search:

Type: Posts; User: Colin L

Page 1 of 20 1 2 3 4

Search: Search took 0.09 seconds.

  1. Re: Playing partner removes debris from my line of putt?

    Fellow competitor....... until 1 January 2019.

    From then, he will be called "another player" but I expect all the commentators and most of the golfing world will continue, wrongly, to call him a...
  2. Thread: Rule 14-5

    by Colin L
    Replies
    7
    Views
    330

    Re: Rule 14-5

    Yes, indeed. I did rewrite that bit above and hope it was a bit clearer:
  3. Thread: Rule 14-5

    by Colin L
    Replies
    7
    Views
    330

    Re: Rule 14-5

    That's a perceptive question and you've caught my memory out (not a difficult thing to do!). It's something I've learned but as you rightly say, not something that is written into the definition of...
  4. Thread: Rule 14-5

    by Colin L
    Replies
    7
    Views
    330

    Re: Rule 14-5

    I think we need to consider that part of the intention in making a stroke is to progress your ball in the direction of the green/hole. The frustrated swipe you describe does not seem to have that...
  5. Replies
    41
    Views
    2,304

    Re: Bridge over ditch

    Indeed. Email and forum discussions can sometimes lead to apparent differences which, face to face, either would not occur in the first place or would be easily resolved. Better to talk this way...
  6. Replies
    41
    Views
    2,304

    Re: Bridge over ditch

    I wouldn't want you to use what I said to prove your point. Both the OP's club and Western Gailes were clear in saying that the stakes identified the water hazard. The Western Gailes LR was only...
  7. Replies
    41
    Views
    2,304

    Re: Bridge over ditch

    Yes, it is. The LR clearly states that the stakes identify the water hazard. That's the key word which means they indicate the presence of the water hazard but do not define its margin.

    i...
  8. Replies
    41
    Views
    2,304

    Re: Bridge over ditch

    I'm only guessing that the stakes are coloured as they are. What is clear, however, is the the LR says that they identify the hazard. It would be interesting to know if that is indeed why the stakes...
  9. Replies
    41
    Views
    2,304

    Re: Bridge over ditch

    The local rule states that the stakes identify the water hazard. That is, they tell players that there is a water hazard there: they do not define it. The stakes in this instance are black with a...
  10. Replies
    41
    Views
    2,304

    Re: Bridge over ditch

    The yellow stakes as stated in the Local Rules only identify the water hazard; they do not define it. The natural margin is the drop from the cut edge into the channel and that is what defines the...
  11. Replies
    30
    Views
    1,345

    Re: Feet behind the tee markers?

    A length of string does the job!
  12. Replies
    31
    Views
    1,137

    Re: Matchplay ruling

    Nothing at all wrong in picking up your partner's ball or knocking it away like that.

    As to testing the green, the casual action of knocking a ball away from the hole for the purpose of passsing...
  13. Replies
    30
    Views
    1,345

    Re: Feet behind the tee markers?

    What difference will it make which set of rules they are clueless about? Clueless means clueless. :)
  14. Replies
    41
    Views
    2,304

    Re: Bridge over ditch

    It's generally ok apart from the disappearance of the stakes marking the grass bit over the drainpipe. There are stakes just behind where I was standing and the photo seems to exaggerate the length...
  15. Replies
    41
    Views
    2,304

    Re: Bridge over ditch

    Well spotted. The curious thing is that up till this year, having done this tournament for 5 years, there were indeed stakes helpfully positioned on either side and I remember the first time I was...
  16. Replies
    41
    Views
    2,304

    Re: Bridge over ditch

    Fell asleep!

    25046
  17. Replies
    41
    Views
    2,304

    Re: Bridge over ditch

    Just to add to Rulefan's illustrations, this picture was taken yesterday on the course I was refereeing on. I did on a previous occasion on that course have to advise a player on the status of the...
  18. Replies
    18
    Views
    933

    Re: Bunker rule confusion

    I think you may be getting mixed up with the option for relief from an abnormal ground condition in a bunker which is to drop on a line from the hole through where the ball lay as far back as you...
  19. Replies
    41
    Views
    2,304

    Re: Bridge over ditch

    Sorry, but that is incorrect. The margins of a water hazard extend vertically up and down. The part of anything spanning the hazard which is within its margin is in the hazard. A ball sitting on it...
  20. Replies
    18
    Views
    933

    Re: Bunker rule confusion

    Or a bit of the bunker lining sticking up.
  21. Replies
    18
    Views
    933

    Re: Bunker rule confusion

    There might, for example, be a puddle (i.e casual water) or damaged area marked as GUR in the bunker. If it interferes with your lie or your stance you could drop without penalty in another part of...
  22. Replies
    18
    Views
    933

    Re: Bunker rule confusion

    Relief from an abnormal ground condition [AGC] comes without penalty. It is relief from a condition that you should not reasonably be expected to play from. You are expected to make a stroke to get...
  23. Replies
    18
    Views
    1,247

    Re: Abandoning ball in play

    I must be misunderstanding what you mean.

    Rule 27-1a permits the substitution of a ball under stroke and distance at any time.

    Rule 28 permits the substition of a ball. It does not...
  24. Replies
    12
    Views
    826

    Foursomes Handicaps

    I've encountered a perception that it is adantageous for a high handicapper to partner a low handicapper in foursomes. Does anyone know any statistics/studies which deal with that? I'm looking for...
  25. Re: Handicap 0.1 increases insufficient (help pls)

    Sorry to be brief, but I'm away at the moment with limited internet access. We have completed a major exercise at my club in re-assessing a good number of handicaps and implementing increases...
Results 1 to 25 of 500
Page 1 of 20 1 2 3 4

Latest Golf News

Dad Makes Birdie After Son Finds Ball Down Animal Hole

A competitor in the PGA Professionals Championship at the weekend made an incredible birdie after his son retrieved it from down an animal hole

June 19, 2018

Travelers Championship Golf Betting Tips

TPC River Highlands hosts the event on the PGA Tour this week, check out who we think will do well with these Travelers Championship Golf Betting Tips

June 19, 2018

BMW International Open Golf Betting Tips

The European Tour are in Germany this week, check out who we think will do well with these BMW International Open Golf Betting Tips

June 19, 2018

‘Why Do Golfers Only Wear One Glove?’ You Asked Google And We’ve Got The Answer…

You asked Google why golfers only wear one glove. Here is the answer...

June 19, 2018

Is Brooks Koepka Here To Stay?

The double US Open champion is up to fourth in the world, is he here to stay?

June 19, 2018